Survey: Are Book Reviews Boring?

I have a… kinda embarrassing confession to make.

Are you ready?

More often than not, I don’t read book reviews completely.

Er, yeah. You know those blog posts writing all about the reader’s thoughts on a certain book? I don’t read through them fully — I don’t even skim, sometimes. I just skip all the way to the end, or look for a paragraph that wraps-up the entire interview and the rating for it, and then I comment based on the little that I’ve read. I know, it’s horrible. Especially being a bookworm and supposedly being used to thousands and millions of words that would usually scare off any sane person… but it’s the truth.

But wait — before you close this tab and vow never to visit my blog ever again (though I wouldn’t blame you if you did that), this awful habit of mine raised a question: why exactly do I do this? I mean, I can read a seven-hundred-page book without any difficulty, so why is it that I can’t even read a single blog post?

Are book reviews boring?

This is a huge fear of mine, whenever I publish something: will others find it boring? Because I’m a person who gets easily distracted all the time, I can’t find myself sitting still and reading something unless it’s important, or unless it’s interesting. So I guess what I’m trying to say is that if book reviews are boring, what can we do to make them… well, un-boring? Which is why I’ve created this sort of survey to see what you think — and see if you have any suggestions as well! Don’t worry, the survey will be completely anonymous, so you can be as honest as you want and no one (not even me) will know who you are.

I hope this will be a success! So please, do fill out the survey. Book reviews are a huge part of our book blogs — they are what put the “book” in “book blog,” after all. It doesn’t matter if you’re a book blogger or a blog reader — your opinions are valued, all the same.

Take the Survey!

This post might probably make some people angry with me, which is totally understandable. And I apologize from the bottom of my heart for not reading through book review posts completely, and then posting comments, too! But it doesn’t mean that I’ll stop doing it. So I’m hoping that this survey may help me to understand more of what readers and bloggers are looking from us — and hopefully I’ll be able to be more hardworking when it comes to read reviews!

And also, I’ll be publishing the results for this survey two weeks from now, so keep an eye out for it!

Over to you:

You probably know, and experience, that book reviews aren’t as popular as the other posts you might have. How do you find reviews? Why? Do share — I’d love to know your opinion!

22 thoughts on “Survey: Are Book Reviews Boring?

  1. Just took the survey! I’m looking forward to seeing the results and what people have to say on the matter. I think it’s a really interesting discussion, especially since I’ve unintentionally gotten away from writing up reviews (even though I do want to go back and write them up at some point) because my feelings have been very “must read!” rather than ‘hmm, let’s think about what I’ve read.’

    • I ALWAYS get distracted while writing reviews… and any kind of post, really. I’m just that type who likes to procrastinate while doing other things. :S But I understand what you mean. Hopefully the survey results will help you, too!

  2. Took the survey as well. I don’t know I like reviewing and even though it’s the least popular post on my blog, it would never deterred me from writing my thoughts. It’s the reason why I decided to blog in the first place. 😀

    • Yeah, book reviews are basically the crux of book blogs — I wouldn’t not write them even if they were the least popular, which they are! Hopefully someone will come up with the idea of totally reinventing the way reviews are written to make them more interesting. ;D

  3. I usually read reviews for books that I’m interested in, but I have a hard time commenting on them. I find that unless I’ve read the book, I don’t have much to say, and I don’t want to post a meaningless comment!

  4. HOW DARE YOU?

    Haha, no, just kidding.

    This is one of the reasons I try to make my reviews short and straight to the point. My mind tends to get overwhelmed with huge reviews too, because I just don’t feel like reading all that context. So I skim and comment on the interesting parts. It doesn’t make me feel bad, because every comment I leave is a good one and I don’t just leave them for a comment. I leave them to show that I appreciate the review, even if I might not have read everything. That’s why I prefer short ones, because those I’ll read completely 🙂 So no, I don’t find them boring at all. Going to take the survey now?

    • Yeah, even though I’m accustomed to long paragraphs and lots of words, seeing a huge web article scares me for some reason. I don’t know why! I only find reviews boring when they’re for a book that isn’t widely known, because then I don’t know much about the book’s background and/or what others think about it (which is really superficial, I know!), so hopefully this survey will help make reviews more interesting for lazy people like me! ;D

  5. MEG?! :O
    Haha, but it’s okay! 😀 I personally really love reading book reviews, and I love writing them too, though like Mitchii said, it’s the least popular posts on my blog 😛 Because my reviews can suddenly turn out to be a 1000 word essay!! xD (I write longer reviews with more inspiration than I can say as compared to my History essays :x) I try to make the effort to read through all reviews though!! ^^ I’m taking the survey too! 😀

    • I like writing reviews too, but I prefer discussion posts and other things! 😛 Haha, I know right, sometimes I need to stop and say, “Meg, that’s enough.” And then figure out how to shorten this ginormous essay. I just realized that now that I type longer comments, I do mostly read reviews quite thoroughly, otherwise I wouldn’t have so much to say! But thanks for taking the survey, Em, can’t wait to see the results 😀

  6. I love reviews! Both reading and writing them ;D It’s easier to comment on regular discussion posts, but I’m addicted to looking for recommendations so I can spend HOURS just looking through blogs and reading reviews. And the longer the better! I actually find myself less compelled to check out a review if it is short, haha. I’m attracted to lots of paragraphs, I guess 😛

    And I took the survey! I look forward to seeing the results!

  7. I’m okay with reviews that are short, but if they’re really long, I tend to get bored too, to be honest! Unless they’re snarky reviews. I love reading those haha.
    Filled out the survey! It’ll be interesting to see what the results are 😀

  8. Some of my favorite reviewers are people who review in clear paragraphs or with headings, because then I can skim and read the parts that are interesting or relevant to me. But, yeah, I wouldn’t say I am a captivated review-reader!

  9. I don’t find book reviews boring at all! But they’re not posts I will click on every single time either. Most of the time, it depends on whether or not I want to learn about a blogger’s thoughts on a book but there are cases with certain bloggers that I’ll read every single review they pump out, regardless of whether I’m interested in the book or not, just because I really trust their opinions and think they have a really fun voice!

    I think lately it seems like bloggers are getting really tired of reviews which is so sad for me because I love reading and writing them! When I write my reviews, I don’t really think a lot about making them un-boring. I just write about whatever I want and try to make it not so stiff by making it a bit more conversational. Since I don’t really read over my posts and haven’t gotten any feedback, I don’t know if my reviews are boring or not (hella long, I know they are for sure!) but it’d be interesting to find out and see from the results of the survey! 🙂

  10. Oh Meg, don’t worry, I’m not angry with you for saying this! I definitely get the impression that you’re in the majority for feeling this way about book reviews. I personally still love them and they are my favourite kind of posts, but even I skim them from time to time (especially if I am short on time or am worried about being spoiled). Ultimately, I like to see a mix of posts on the blogs that I read, not just reviews and not just discussions. It was a great idea for you to make up a survey and I’m really curious about the results!

  11. One of the main reasons why I might not read a book review is that I’m afraid of spoilers. Most book bloggers are pretty good about keeping spoilers to a minimum (or at least notifying people if there are spoilers), but sometimes there are reviews that I would prefer not to read because I want to read the book before I find out the major plot twist!

Submit Your Transmission

