Insurgent Takeover: Book Depressions/Hangovers

Hello everyone! I’m now in South Korea and some lovely people have decided to write up guest posts to keep the blog running! Today’s guest poster is Shelly from Readiculous ReadsWhat’s that? You haven’t heard of her blog before? Well, shame on you. Shelly’s just about the bubbliest person I’ve come to know in the blogosphere, and she makes the best vlogs with her friend Kari. Honestly, this girl’s a wonderful addition to the book blogging community. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this guest post, Shelly!

Bookish Depressions/Hangovers

I was originally going to write about my opinions on books to movies but then something happened to me. This is going to be either really stupid or really sad, so be prepared.

I finished reading the House of Hades by Rick Riordan.

For those of you who don’t read the Percy Jackson books or have never heard of HoH, it is the newest book in the Heroes of Olympus series, the spinoff series to the Percy Jackson books. I have waited over a year to read House of Hades and when I finished reading it, I got really sad. But sad might not be an accurate word to express it. I felt empty. I waited over a year to read this book and it was AMAZING and did not disappoint so why do I feel so sad?

I started to think this was a “classic” case of a bookish hangover. But then I realized, I’m not just feeling bummed about it, I feel empty. Why do we grow such strong attachments to books? What makes us book bloggers versus the average Joe feel this way? There really has been no purpose to this post except to get you guys thinking. I think the only cure is to sulk about it for a little while and then just pick up a book or watch a tv show that makes you happy. I tried rereading from HoH and it helped for a millisecond but that’s about it. We can never unread something so when it’s over, we tend to feel a little empty.

Over to you.

Has this ever happened to you? Have you ever finished an amazing book only to feel sad that it’s over? What’s the cure?

6 thoughts on “Insurgent Takeover: Book Depressions/Hangovers

  1. OMG yes! After The House of Hades I was really quiet. I was compel tell sucked into the world and when I finished, it was like: What do I do with my life now?

    Lovely post, Shelly! <33

  2. I experienced a book depression after I read the ending of Opal by JLA. That ending was just so heartbreaking that I just kept on staring at the last page for quite a few minutes after I read it. I felt like my world stops for even a few minutes at that time. That was really a cray cray experience.

  3. YES. This happens to me all the time, ESPECIALLY when I reach the end of a favourite series. I think of it as post-book depression, because it IS an emptiness that you feel more than anything, despite how much you might have loved the book. I just finished reading Marie Lu’s Champion today, and I actually felt so numb afterwards that I questioned why I ever bother reading books in the first place. I always have that futile conversation with myself. 😉

    I don’t know if there’s a cure, but if you ever find it, be sure to tell me first. Great post, Shelly!

  4. Oh, this has happened to me SO many times! I am usually able to “cure” my book depressions with a nice drink and another good book, but I still always feel sad about finishing an amazing book, never being able to read it for the first time again.

  5. I often feel a little lost after I finish a book, but I find that marking off what I’ve read and what I’m reading next on goodreads, then easing into the next book by reading the cover blurb before starting reading it helps me recover 🙂

Submit Your Transmission

