Alas, Life.

I’m sure you’ve noticed, but I haven’t been very good at commenting lately. It’s partly because my weeks have suddenly gotten ten times busier, what with the end of the year coming, and me struggling to keep my grades up while blogging almost every day. I know this isn’t much of an excuse; lots of other bloggers are students like me, and they manage to update their blogs daily, as well as respond to comments. Yay them! But alas, try as I might, I am not as efficient as they are. My grades are failing, and I can’t continue to deny that any longer. It’s making me both stressed out and worried for my future at the same time. Which begs the question: is blogging worth it? Probably not. 

I’ve said this a thousand times, but hear me out one more time: I love you guys so much for being so thoughtful and leaving comments on my posts. I try to show my appreciation by returning them, but as of late, I haven’t been able to, and I am so sorry.

It’s a phase. 

Previously, I was so hyped up to visit blogs and return comments. Now, however, apart from being unexpectedly tired at only eleven at night, I can’t bring myself to type more than one comment a day. I’ve even been struggling to pump out posts for my schedule, and the wort part is that I can’t even be bothered anymore if I get comments or if I get page views. (I’m going through something like what Charlotte is, right now.)

I hope it’s a phase.

Where does this leave me? The obvious choice would be to take a break from blogging and focus on my studies, as I have a major exam coming up soon. This exam is what will help me get to a college of my choice. I need to do well. So that’s what I’m going to do. I’ll take a break from blogging — not a strict hiatus, but I’ll only post when I feel like it, and comment when I feel like it. I’m not ready to give up on the thing that brought me out of my antisocial shell and gave me wonderful friends and improved my writing and analyzing skills. 

This isn’t goodbye. 

I’ll still be around, on Twitter, and sometimes on other blogs, if I have the time to comment and if I feel like it. But from today onward, I’m not going to be restricted to a schedule. And, as hard as it may be, my studies are the most important thing right now. I need to understand that.

28 thoughts on “Alas, Life.

  1. Oh my gosh, don’t worry about it Meg! School and your grades are definitely more important than blog comments. I’m definitely sad that this means you’ll be taking a break from blogging, too, but I completely understand. I wish you the best with your classes, and I’m happy to know you’ll still be hanging around on twitter in the interim. *hugs*

  2. Good luck with your exams and school work – obviously that is the main thing to concentrate on, but from experience if you don’t do as well as you’d hope there are always options to fix that, so don’t stress yourself out too much. This is where blogging schedules can become a stress, because they end up not being fun when real life gets busy. Post when it’s fun, don’t feel you have to 🙂

  3. Meg, don’t ever let blogging be a priority over school. School’s important in a long run and I’m sure you already know that. I’m so happy that you’re taking a break. Plus, if you’re not feeling it, you can’t force yourself to go on with blogging and reviewing. I’m a slacker in commenting too, I don’t know how people manage to do it everyday (good for them!), but I can barely do it twice a week. Good Luck with you exams and don’t worry at all. No one’s going anywhere 🙂

  4. I’m glad you’ve decided to take time off to focus on your studies, blogging should never take priority over blogging. The only reason I’m so efficient at blogging/commenting is because my school year recently started so it’s not too much of a hassle yet. We all love you and we will wait your return. I think I speak for everyone when I say: I understand and good luck on your exams! ❤

  5. Meg, I understand completely, and I think it’s good that you’re deciding to prioritise. I think sometimes it’s easy to forget that this is just as hobby for most of us. We don’t actually HAVE to do anything. Charlotte’s post made me realise that too – which is why, once I’m done with my immediate pile of review books, I am taking the same approach. Good luck with your exams, and I look forward to seeing you around when you do make an appearance! 🙂

  6. I think anyone trying to balance blogging with their life will understand the predicament you’re in. I certainly do and I commend you for taking a step back when you need it! It’s hard to admit, but blogging is EXTREMELY time consuming and stressful and I feel you on everything in this post! Good luck with your exam and studies and I will be patiently awaiting your return! 🙂

  7. Take all the time you need, Meg! I totally understand. School takes #1 priority in your life. Don’t force yourself to post if you aren’t able to! We (other bloggers) will still be here when you return! ❤

    I wish you luck on your studies! Ace those exams! Show them who's boss! 😀

  8. Good luck with the schooling. Hopefully things will calm down and you will feel like getting back to blogging and commenting. But it’s no good to do until it’s fun to do again. It’s not worth burning yourself out.

  9. Fair enough for taking a break 🙂 Blogging is definitely just a hobby, and you’re right not to let it take precedence over schoolwork and things.
    Hopefully you do well in your studies!

  10. I completely understand. We’ll all still be here when your life settles down. I often feel like when I need to do something, even if I don’t want to do it (say, studying), then I suddenly don’t feel like doing anything else either (like blogging) until I finish it. Good luck with your studies and your test 🙂

  11. Ah Meg I totally know how you feel. I’m still balancing everything somehow but when my midterms start knocking on my door I’ll go MIA for a while probably. I cannot balance my classes, some travels and reading. I wish you all the luck with your classes and I cannot wait for you to be back! Stay strong 🙂

  12. This is completely understandable, Meg! I am goin to loosen up my schedule for next year–year 9 whoop! Because for next year onwards, studying is going to be the most important thing in my life. I will miss you greatly!

    Love, Mel <33

  13. I wish you good luck with your studies, Meg! And I completely understand. Blogging can be stressful and does take a lot of time. But really, blogging is supposed to be a fun hobby and shouldn’t get in the way of school and other things that impact you. So, I hope you are able to get over this phase, catch up on school, and are able to return to us refreshed 🙂

  14. Oh gosh, Meg, no one is going to hate you for taking time off to focus on your studies! Everyone is either going through or has gone through the same thing so we completely understand that your studies come first every time. We’ll all still be here, waiting eagerly for your next posts, but you have to do what’s most important for you!

  15. All the best, Meg! I do hope you tide this one through and that we’ll be able to see you soon! Of course, studies are definitely very important, and you should totally focus on that first! 🙂 We’ll be waiting, definitely, to see what you have in store for us!
    It’ll be great when the holidays come, won’t it? 🙂 Then you’ll have more time for everything. Mine has just started, and let’s cross our fingers that yours will too!
    See you around, Meg!! ❤

  16. Do not worry about the commenting! Blogging will be always be here for you but exams are far more important. Think of your blog as a bus, just hop on and hop off as you choose. If you put your blog ahead of your studies, you will feel guilty and regret it and it’s not worth it. Just focus on the studies for now (and my sympathy I know how hard that is!) and then when you have more time, you can throw yourself back into blogging with an easy mind.
    Good luck on the big exam!

  17. Don’t worry at all about taking a break from blogging for school, or life, or just because you’re tired and not into it. This should be fun, and if it’s not, or if it’s getting in the way of school, you are absolutely right to take a break until your life allows you more time, energy and enthusiasm for it. Good luck on your exam!

  18. Study hard! School should come first, and I hope your weeks are less busy. I was going through the same thing these past couple of weeks. Krista and I blogged less, and I had to stop commenting back for a while because I’ve been so swamped with work. You’ll find your groove again. Good luck with your exams 😀

  19. Hiyaaah, Meg! I am sorry if I wasn’t able to comment immediately when you needed it the most. I understand where you’re coming from and I absolutely understand how this blogging thingy is affecting your priorities. I may not be a student anymore but I’ve been in your situation too during my college life. It wasn’t blogging but online gaming. I almost failed two subjects because I wasn’t able to straighten my priorities early on.

    I am so proud that you’re such a sensible teenager fixing things instantly. If I had been in your shoes, I swear that it would take me much longer to realize. Just take your time, Meg. We will always be here. I hope you are doing fine overall. I am keeping my fingers crossed that you will ace your exams.

    Good luck to your future endeavors.

  20. Hear me clear, Meg – blogging is not a priorty. I know you know that, but I do want you to feel bad about this all! Your studies matter waaaay more! I cannot wait for your return, but at the end of the day, I know you are embettering yourself. Yes, some can do it all and more, but so. I am glad you came to this realization. BIG HUGS and best of luck with your studies!

  21. Hi Meg, we all know what life gets in the way every now and then! It’s the right thing to focus on the most important things, because your study is what will give you a job in the future 😉 I can’t wait for you to return, but I hope you enjoy your hiatus and get awesome grades!

Submit Your Transmission

