Top Ten Tuesday: Best Character Names

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and Bookish, where the participants list down the top ten books/bookish things according to the given topic.

Top Ten Best Character Names

(listed in no particular order)

1. Tonks

I have to admit that I’m with Nymphadora on this: I much prefer her nickname over her real name, because it sounds so strange yet so musical at the same time! You can create a tune just by saying “tonks, tonks, tonks tonk,” over and over. Try it. I’m serious.

2. Galadriel

This is such a beautiful name. It’s probably the best fantasy name I’ve come across so far, and that’s saying something, because I’ve read plenty of fantasy books. I’ve tried pronouncing it a couple of times, but I can’t say it with the same foreign-ish tongue one of my friends can! I also think Cate Blanchett made a perfect Galadriel in the movies.

3. Blue

Some people might’ve thought that Blue was a weird name, and I’m not going to argue against that. Blue is a pretty strange name — but it’s slick at the same time. Before Maggie Stiefvater used it to name one of her main characters, I never thought that a color would make such a great name. Thee’s just something soft and hard about it. I can’t explain!

4. Sturmhond

It wasn’t originally love at first sight for me and Sturmhond. But then Leigh Bardugo did such a FANTASTIC job with his character that I grew to love him… and am now torn between the Darkling, him, and Mal. Yes. I ship all three with Alina. Once I knew more about Sturmhond’s character, I couldn’t help but feel that his name was born for him somehow. It suited his role in the book as a privateer so well. And if you pronounce it slow, emphasizing the “r” and the “d,” it sounds really good. *swoon*

5. June

I know — what an ordinary name, right? But for some unknown reason, I’ve always liked the name June. It’s such a sweet and gentle name, and it’s also one of the months of my favorite season: spring! Hey, c’mon, we bookworms need some normal in our lives, right?

6. Alex

Another really common name, but I’ve noticed a strange trend: I tend to fall in love with love interests whose name is Alex. I’m serious. Take Alex from Delirium. I’ve been a strong shipper of Alex + Lena from the moment I lay eyes on him. Okay, not really. But it was quite close to the time I first met him. Then, there’s Alex from Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller. If you read my review for the book, you’d know that I was hopelessly, head-over-heels infatuated with him.

See, Alex is a really good name for your love interest. 😉

7. Wanderer

This basically describes me indirectly. I’m a wanderer between reality and fiction, which is a lot less dangerous than what the actual Wanderer, from The Host by Stephenie Meyer, wanders through. It’s such a pretty name, don’t you think? The short form for it is “Wanda.”

8. Raven

If you remember, I chose the raven as the animal I could shapeshift to. Ravens represent freedom to me, because they’re intelligent, and they aren’t held back by anything because they have wings. And if you try to trap them, they can very well poke out your eyeballs if they wanted to. I value freedom a lot, because it’s one of the things that makes us human, and is also one of the causes for happiness.

9. Genya

Genya is a character in the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, and I love her name so much that I want to name my future daughter with it! It actually kind of reminds me of “Gemma,” which is another really pretty name, only I like the former more because it sounds more exotic.

10. Gansey

GANSEY. If that name doesn’t already make you fall in love, then I suggest you read The Raven Boys AND The Dream Thieves and then come back and tell me that you’re now a fervent worshipper of Richard Campbell Gansey III.

Over to you!

What are some of your favorite character names and why? Do share, and don’t hesitate to leave links to your TTT so I can check them out!

Good friends, good books, and a sleepy conscience: this is the ideal life.
– Mark Twain

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Character Names

  1. I’ve always been a fan of the name Alex–such sweet name. My other favourites have to be: Eli (like in Not A Drop To Drink) all the Harry Potter names and Zu (like in The Darkest Minds) and of course, the best ship name is PERCABETH.

    Fab post, Meg! <33

  2. Lovely picks, Meg!

    As for me, some of my favourites are: Karou (Daughter of Smoke and Bone; I want her name AND her blue hair), Jem Carstairs (The Infernal Devices; I LOVE the name Jem), Nikolai (Grisha Trilogy; handsome name for a handsome prince, uh-huh) and Auden (Sarah Dessen’s Along for the Ride; I think it’s a unique name for a girl).

  3. I am in love with your list!!! Tonks is one of my favorites, but I’m so glad you mentioned the Raven Boys. And Gansey! I love him!
    Great list! Thanks for sharing. 😀

  4. Interesting list! I don’t much care for Gansey (:P), but Blue’s an okay name. I have always likes Galadriel, too. And Wandered! Raven is one of my favorites — I absolutely adore those birds!

  5. Tonks and Wanderer are wonderful names aren’t they? I haven’t read The Raven Boys yet, but it’s on my to do list! 🙂 And Gansey is an awesome name, can’t wait to meet the character.

  6. NO, MEG. How dare you for getting “tonks” stuck in my head. It’s marching throughout my head. ;D I’m not a fan of “Wanda,” but I really like Wanderer.

    Richard Campbell Gansey III has the awesomest name. I’m a fan of long family names like that. It’s all prestigious sounding, which I love.

  7. I do love Tonk and Genya as names 🙂
    I’m going to have to read the The Raven Boys. I saw Maggie when she came around last month and have The Raven Boys and Dream Thieves but I haven’t read them yet

  8. I HAVE A FRIEND NAMED GENYA but it’s not like “j-enya” it’s pronounced as a hard G and she hates it when people mispronounce her name. And I totally agree with you list EXCEPT Blue, that name is just ridiculous, there are no other words to describe it (in my opinion anyway). And Alex seems like such a commonplace name to me, I know so many of them (living in North America like yeah!) so it wouldn’t make my favourites list.

    Since The Raven Boys is prominent on here, I love the name Ronan. It is so amazing. OK sorry for ranting but this is what happens when I attempt to write meaningful comments. Awesome list (even if we don’t share the same opinions but I can see what you mean) and sorry for rambling! 😀

  9. Sadly I haven’t read, actually meet most of these (BUT I’LL MEG, one day I’ll). Anyhow lol for Alex being a great name for your love interests – I’d marry Aiden any day 😉 Great post girl 🙂

  10. I like the names Tonks and Gansey too 🙂 And I also like books where the characters have color names. Blue is not my favorite color though…
    Oh, I agree, June is a great name. And I have Wanderer on my list. I can’t stand Wanda though…

  11. 1. Tonks- How about oinks, oink, oinks? They almost sound similar if you say them fast. But hey, I would prefer Nymphadora than Tonks. Have you heard of The Sims game? I used to play it when I was on my teens and I named one of my Sims “Nymphadora.” What? They’re weird but cool. Andromeda, Narcissa, Walburga, Bellatrix.

    2. Galadriel- I think LOTR has a lot of lovely lovely names. They’re weird but they’re lovely. They’re the sort of names that I want to name my future child/children with if ever I’m given the opportunity. Other names that I love in LOTR are: Arwen/Undomiel, Eowyn, Theoden, Aragorn/Elessar, Gandalf, Goldberry, and Faramir.

    3. Blue- I haven’t read The Raven Boys yet. But yep, it sounds cool. So is Red and Pink, Meg! Lalala.

    4. Sturmhond- Okay. Really weird. It makes me think of a four legged beast. I still have to read Siege and Storm so that I can see whether the weird name suits his personality. And Darkling FTW!

    5. June- Ahm, I am not really fond of month names. xD

    6. Alex- What about the Alec variation? But I get you. All characters with the name Alex, Alec and Alexander/Alexandre makes me giddy. They always give me this comforting feeling.

    7. Wanderer- Reminds me to read The Host. it’s been gathering dust in my kindle for pc. Argh! I first encountered the name Wanda when I was in high school. One of my classmates was named Wanda. I am not sure if I love it but it seriously made me remember her because Wanda is unusual.

    8. Raven- Agree! But still, the bird really creeps me out. Hahahah. Correct me if I’m wrong but most of the time that I read about ravens, they’re associated with evil deeds.

    9. Genya- Kenya? Hahahaha. TBH, the name really didn’t stand out to me. I was really focused with the Darkling. And hey, although I don’t like Alina, I’ve grown to love her name.

    10. Gansey- Yancey? I really don’t know who this character is. Bwahahaha. It’s weird but I don’t think I love it. Teehee.

Submit Your Transmission

