Meg is Pissed: The Iron Traitor, Julie Kagawa

The Iron Traitor (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #2)

The Iron Traitor (Call of the Forgotten #2)

Julie Kagawa

In the real world, when you vanish into thin air for a week, people tend to notice. 

After his unexpected journey into the lands of the fey, Ethan Chase just wants to get back to normal. Well, as “normal” as you can be when you see faeries every day of your life. Suddenly the former loner with the bad reputation has someone to try for-his girlfriend, Kenzie. Never mind that he’s forbidden to see her again. 

But when your name is Ethan Chase and your sister is one of the most powerful faeries in the Nevernever, “normal” simply isn’t to be. For Ethan’s nephew, Keirran, is missing, and may be on the verge of doing something unthinkable in the name of saving his own love. Something that will fracture the human and faery worlds forever, and give rise to the dangerous fey known as the Forgotten. As Ethan’s and Keirran’s fates entwine and Keirran slips further into darkness, Ethan’s next choice may decide the fate of them all.

Forgive my french, but: GODDAMN, THAT ENDING. I mean, I already knew what was coming, but nothing would have been able to prepare me for how The Iron Traitor just ended. Can you even call that an ending?! Julie Kagawa, you better have some real good tricks up your sleeve for the next novel, because dammit, I refuse to let that ending slide!

Summary: For Ethan Chase, having the Sight is a curse. And after he and Kenzie disappeared into the Nevernever for a week and returned with a lie, all he wants is to ignore the fey and really try to be normal this time. But the fey aren’t the only things that demand his attention. Kierran, the nephew he never knew he had until a week ago, has disappeared with a reckless plan — one that might very well destroy him, as well as the Nevernver. Ethan has vowed never to get swept up in the dealings of the fey, but Kierran is family, and Ethan is not one to let his relatives get hurt alone. We all know this can only end in disaster…

The world of the fey was completely new to me when I read The Lost Prince, the first book of this all-new series. And even though this is supposed to be a spin-off from The Iron Fey books, I had absolutely no trouble at all getting swept up into this unknown world. I definitely had zero problems getting back in rhythm with this book as well, mostly because it picked up right where the prequel ended. The only complaint I have here is that I wanted a bit more recapping to be done, because there were parts where I had to dig deep into my memory to try to recall what had happened in the previous book. 

But we all know that Julie Kagawa is a master storyteller, and that certainly shows in The Iron Traitor. We are reacquainted with Ethan and Kenzie, the troublemaking duo who plowed out of Faery only a week before. I adored Ethan’s narration: he’s the perfect blend of a brooding teen with just the right amount of humor to lighten up the mood. I’m not one who appreciates sulking teenagers, but more than once, Ethan made me laugh out loud. Kenzie’s not much different — I found myself constantly admiring her spunk and bravery (or stupidity?). I also appreciated the development of Kierran. We didn’t get to see much of him in The Lost Prince, so it was nice to see his character in a more in-depth light, even if that did reveal some frightening aspects to his personality. 

While I enjoyed the characters’ banter and development, I have to say that the romance was a little unbelievable here. I can’t remember feeling the same way in the prequel, but for some unknown reason, there was just something… sappy? over-the-top? unrealistic? In this book, Ethan starts experiencing some stronger feelings for Kenzie. I liked seeing a softer side to his character, but I felt that the change went by a bit too quickly: he went from being a loner to someone who couldn’t live without the love interest. As much as I wanted to ship Kenzie and Ethan, I have to admit that I wasn’t too passionate about their romance. 

And now I come to the ending. I must have seen something like that coming, but that didn’t take away my frustration and pain when it actually did happen! Kagawa really does know how to write absolutely torturous cliffhangers — first with The Eternity Cure, and now this. Needless to say, I was not very happy when I realized that the story wouldn’t be continuing. But agonizing endings aside, The Iron Traitor was an action-packed book with lovable characters and great world building — a wonderful sequel, for sure!

Who is this book for?

Are you a fan of Julie Kagawa’s books? Then you have to read the Call of the Forgotten series! Basically, I’d recommend this to anyone with a love for fantasy and the paranormal, though you probably don’t want to read this until the next book is out.

4 stars

BOOK SPECS:
304 pages, e-galley from NetGalley (thank you!)
Published October 29, 2013 by HarlequinTEEN
Purchase: The Book Depository + Amazon

19 thoughts on “Meg is Pissed: The Iron Traitor, Julie Kagawa

  1. Meg meg I feel so…behind since I haven’t read either Iron Fey or Blood of Eden *sigh* (´._.`)\(‘́⌣’̀ ) but oh my god, every single review I’ve read for Julie Kagawa books makes me wanna read her books so bad… >< I am not a fan of this cover to be honest — I like the previous one better but ughhh too bad I cannot find any of her books her O_O I WANT TO READ THEM SO BAD 😥

    Any idea which one should I start first? Iron Fey or Blood of Eden??

  2. I must say that I really liked the ending, haha. I think Kagawa did a great job there. It’s horrible and nerve-wrecking for the next book, but it didn’t bother me as much as other cliff-hangers.

    I remember your comment on my review and how we thought differently about the romance. Still funny that you were so easily absorbed in the world, while I had trouble there – and how I love the romance when you are not sure about it :p

  3. When I saw the title I thought you hated this book or something lol. I have not yet read Julie’s get series but it looks really good and her vamp series was pretty good.

    Lovely review, Meg! <33

  4. You have successfully managed to wrap up my thoughts!! xD When I first read the title, I was like “Oh No, bring in ze ranty Meg!!” And then it looks like it was otherwise 😉
    To be honest, I don’t think I enjoyed the romance either. It had this sappy quality like you said that didn’t appeal to me at all 😦
    But all in all, I agree that Julie Kagawa is a master storyteller and world-builder! She’s absolutely fantastic when it comes to that. And Puck?
    HANDS DOWN. BECAUSE PUCK, FRIENDS.
    Okay, no all-out fangirling here, but…
    Fantastic review Meg!! 😀

  5. Wow, great review! I totally agree on the romantic aspects. It was just lacking. You summed up pretty much everything I felt, except I still really don’t like Kenzie or Keirran.
    And the cliff hanger! It was so horrible yet wonderful! I can’t wait for the next book! 🙂

  6. Haha, the title of your post made me laugh! “Meg is Pissed.” Oh no! D: However, it seems like this review is mostly positive 😛 I don’t plan on reading this series since it really isn’t my thing, but I’m happy that you are enjoying it!

    Loveable characters and absorbing narrations are always good, and I love that the characters all have depth and development. The romance does seem a little too sudden, though it sounds like it isn’t that much of a problem when it comes to enjoying the book.

    Gosh, I hate agonizing cliffhangers. I remember when I read Unspoken– that cliffhanger was just too cruel. TOO CRUEL! Anyways, I hope that you enjoy the third book (I assume that it is a trilogy). Great review!

  7. OK I haven’t read any Julie Kagawa books (I can feel the shame being directed at me!) but this one sounds really good. A little ashamed that I haven’t read it but the premise of a cliffhanger makes me nervous! Awesome review 😀

  8. Haha, I’m still pissed about The Eternity Cure’s ending, as well! Curse you, Kagawa! You reel us in with your witty characters and your exciting storylines and then BAM. Totally leave us in the lurch with those torturous cliffhanger endings! Heh, I still love her anyway (and I’m CRAZY EXCITED about her new dragon book. Are you?). I have yet to read any of her fae series, but I’m definitely getting the impression her original series might be slightly better reviewed than this spinoff series. But this sequel still sounds pretty excellent (ending and romance notwithstanding)! Fantastically fun review, Meg!

  9. I’ve tried so many books, but I just can’t seem to get into fey books. Well the only exception would be Fever series because seriously, Barrons! He can everything work! Coming back to Julia Kagawa, I tried the first book in The Iron Fey series and wasn’t really invested in it, but I like how strongly you feel for this series. Boy, that cliffhanger must be a killer by the way you’re reacting! I hope you get to read the next book soon! Great review, Meg 🙂

  10. Yep, that ending was super torturous! I agree completely that there was something off about the romance. I wanted to ship them too — and I was about there in The Lost Prince, but there was a disconnect between Kenzie and Ethan in this book. I felt like the romance was forced or rushed here. And I didn’t like Kenzie all that much in this one. She seemed out of place. Here only to be here with Ethan, and I didn’t like that.

    Wait…so there’s not another book after this one? Is there another? OMG, there better be another one!? I have to go check *runs off*

  11. Kagawa LOVES the cliffies. And I always get sucked in! Despite several warnings about this torturous cliffhanger, I just started it because I can’t resist and apparently I NEVER LEARN. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed this overall even if the romance veered into unbelievable territory for you. Great honest review!

  12. I totally agree Meg! That ending was really DAMN. I’m always prepared for chliffy endings when it comes to Julie but this was on some new level. I will go crazy until the next one is out. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one Meg! 🙂

  13. I need to get The Iron Fey series under my belt before I worry about spin off books (I read the first novel, then I got distracted…). I hate bumping into cliffhangers when there’s no next book available, in recent years I have started waiting until a complete series is out before reading them – are these horrible ‘endings’ becoming more common do you think? Or am I just getting less patient with age?! Lol. Great review honey, you’ve given me a nudge re The Iron Fey. 🙂

  14. You got me with your title! I thought I’ll be reading a ranty and snarky negative review. Nyahaha! To be honest, I didn’t know Julie Kagawa or any of her books for that matter until I started blogging. My knowledge on books was very limited then but well, after blogging, my horizon has widened and I started exploring the depths of the book world and finally heard about Julie Kagawa’s works.

    I have already shelved this book including the earlier installments in my TBR shelf. ❤ And oh my, after reading your review, I will have to bump them up on my list of reading priorities.

    This should be really good since your cursing, Nyahahaha.

    I understand you about the recapping thing. Sometimes your mind is just brimming with so much information that it's hard to distinguish one book event from the other. Personally, I have a love and hate relationship with recaps. If it's a book that I really love like HP, I don't need recaps in the sequel anymore. It usually irks me if JK writes a recap in the next sequel because I already know all of it. But I know that's very selfish of me. Other readers might not share the same obsession. But if it's a book that I JUST enjoyed, recaps are very important because I have already forgotten the important details.

    And wow, I am really sold to buy this book due to the characters. I love characters who can make me laugh. I hope that Kenzie's stupidity is not bordering on Bella Swan like stupidity. Please assure me, Meg. Hahaha. Heaven knows that my reading experience is always ruined by Bella Swan characters.

    Did you say cliffhanger ending? GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR! Why do some authors are hellbent on killing us? Why can't they just end it with a happy note? I am not looking for happy ending but I just want them to have closures no matter how bad they are (well, except for killing an MC that I really really love). Grrrrr.

    Thanks for this awesome review, Meg!

  15. You know, I kind of… HATED the ending of the iron traitor… I am shocked to find that there’s NOT another book after this! It’s not fair! Well maybe it is. But that doesn’t mean I’ve to like it.

Submit Your Transmission

