Top Ten Tuesday: Best/Worst Series Enders

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and Bookish, where the participants list down the top ten books/bookish things according to the given topic.

Top Ten Six Best/Worst Series Enders

(I bet you’ll be able to guess some of them…)

BEST:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #5)Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)Wicked Kiss (Nightwatchers, #2)

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Do I even need to explain this?! The ending is just… perfect. I know there are some people out there who weren’t happy with it (no idea why), but personally, I thought it was a great way to wrap up the series and settle Harry down. That boy needs a lot of rest after those crazy seventeen years he’s been through.

2. The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan

This is where I confess that I was waiting AGES for Annabeth to finally realize that Percy was the one. Gosh, I ship Percabeth so hard, and when that ending came around, it was all I could do NOT to swoon.

3. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Again, a lot of people seemed to find Mockingjay the worst book of the Hunger Games trilogy. Again, I digress. I think it was necessary for all the brutality and darkness this last book held. Dystopian worlds are built on misery and the lack of freedom — it’s only to be expected that violent and bloody things happen when you try to tear down a regime that has been around since before your mother was born. And sometimes, you lose the people you love. That’s life. It doesn’t care.

4. Wicked Kiss by Michelle Rowen

I didn’t really enjoy the first book, Dark Kiss, but I really liked the sequel because there was less stupid romance and more action! Plus, the characters came along really nicely.

WORST:

Requiem (Delirium, #3)Feedback (Variant, #2)

5. Requiem by Lauren Oliver

I’ve been ranting a lot about Requiem, I’m sorry! Even though I enjoyed most of the story, the ending was absolute shit, so it’s going to fall into the “worst” category.

6. Feedback by Robison Wells

Variant wasn’t the perfect read, but I was actually looking forward to something more enlightening than what Feedback gave me. I mean, I guess some of my questions were answered, but not all, and I still don’t understand why a lot of the things that happened in the book happened. Oh, and the ending is kind of open as well, which does NOT sit well with me.

– – – – –

I have to admit that I have this horrible habit when it comes to finishing series. I tend to read the first book and leave the rest till the absolute latest, which is why I have several series enders on my shelf that I have not yet read, so I can’t include them here. Hench the pathetic TTT post for today. I’ll get to them soon. T_T

Over to you!

What are some of your favorite/hated series enders? Do share, and link me up to your TTT posts so I can go check them out!

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best/Worst Series Enders

  1. I agree with Requiem. I did enjoy that book overall but the ending was too open and too weak for the whole series. Sadly I have read Mockingjay in a wrong time. I’d enjoy it much more today but at the time I believed in HEA. Great list 🙂

  2. I actually haven’t read Requiem because I sort of gave up on the Delirium series after the second book but I might read it just to see if what everyone says is true. I didn’t really like the Hunger Games so Mockingjay wasn’t really on my favourites list. I totally agree with you for The Last Olympian, that book was the best. HOUSE OF HADES IS OUT TODAY IN CANADA,WOOOOO! *I am clearly excited* I also agree with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, do we even need to explain why it’s amazing? 🙂

  3. I LOVE…
    that PUPPY. No seriously, I could literally KISS IT. It’s so ADORABLE.
    Argh, I hated the ending of Requiem ending too >< HORRIBLE. I am AGHAST.
    Les Horribles. I don't even know if that's real French because whatever my sister blabbers in French sometimes doesn't get into my brain and sets in the wrong direction, but but but…
    That ending, (pardon the cursing) was the shittiest shit shit could ever produce!
    HATED it.
    I should stop my rant, shouldn't I?
    Argh, but it's horrible.
    Anyway, thanks for sharing, Meg! 😀
    (cowers away to corner and continues to hurl curses at a certain book)

  4. Ah, we have similar takes on series! I love Deathly Hallows(not the epilogue as much, but I don’t care because the end to the book was fantastic), and Mockingjay. Mockingjay is a brutal read but I thought it ended the series fantastically. And the ending of Requiem STILL makes me death glare and I read that book MONTHS ago!

  5. I have absolutely no problem with Mockingjay being dark – I LIKE the dark; I’m all for war stories which are brutal and which have consequences. Everyone ends up in a place that makes sense – the problem is how they get there! The central tension between Katniss/Gale/Peeta is established really well in THG and developed in CF but then completely collapses in Mockingjay because Peeta’s characterisation/narrative disintegrates!

    I suppose we’ll have to agree to disagree!

  6. I totally agree with you about Mockingjay! I actually loved that one and it makes me sad that so many people hated the ending. I found the ending perfect for the series. And of course, the Deathly Hallows. Probably the best ending to anything ever. 🙂

  7. Great list, Meg! I do understand your feelings about Mockingjay being a dystopian and all. I still felt like it was all over the place. To me, it seemed like it needed to be better thought out and Collins was pressured to pump out the last book quickly. But that’s just my take on it. I am glad that other people loved it since the series is so popular. That would be a bummer if everyone hated the ending, especially since the book is going to be 2 films! I’m excited to see how they’re going to pull that off.

  8. Harry Potter is by far one of my favorite endings. It’s just perfect. It wrapped everything up and despite all the things they had to endure, they get there happily ever after! It’s everything I could have asked for 😀 And requiem.. Don’t get me started. Ugh!

  9. Harry Potter made my list, too. And a bunch of other peoples’, which makes me happy. Some people found the epilogue a little cheesy or too neat–that the end before it was enough–but I kind of like seeing the torch of a crazy, magical education passed to the next generation.

  10. Glad that I’m not the only one who has problem with finishing a series! lol
    I tend out to ignore sequels or series-enders, too, especially if I’ve read reviews saying that the last book was kinda a disappointment, turned out to be bad, or something like that. I think this problem started since I finished Mockingjay, because I don’t know, IMO, the book has one of the worst endings for a series :’|

  11. Ha! Someone thought the ending to Harry Potter was less than perfect? Wow. I loved it. There isn’t anything I’d change about the books. And YAY for Mockingjay!!

    You know, I’m losing interest in Delirium a little every day. Everyone says the first book was great, the second was meh and the third, especially the ending, was awful. I mean, I’m not sure I want to put myself through this, but I have the first book… 😐

  12. Got to agree with you on Harry Potter, loved the ending.

    I am one of the people who thought Mockingjay was a horrendous book, but not because of the way it ended the series, it was just dire in itself. The ending, with Katniss and Peeta was good, it made up for two disastrous sequels.

  13. Looove the blog look, Meg!!

    Man, I had the same issue as you this week – it was kind of eye opening how difficult it was to come up with 10 series to include in my TTT this week. I did manage it… but it was hard to come up with even though I was expecting it to be easy. I thought I read series all the time, but it seems like I have a tendency of reading the first book only and then never following up with the rest of the series.

    But yes, I completely agree with you about HP and Mockingjay (don’t really know why people disagree with us)! I think they were pretty fitting endings indeed!

    Now Requiem on the other hand… I think “absolute shit” about covers it, haha! I’m not a fan of open ending covers either because they come off as lazy. Also, I think it is incredibly unfair of Lauren Oliver to do that to us, her loyal fans, who stuck with her throughout the series. We deserved our resolution! I still love her and her writing, but man was I pissed! Still am, actually.

  14. I knew Requiem was going to fall into the worst category! I haven’t read it, but I did go by some spoilers, and boy, that must have been annoying!

    As to Mockingjay SPOILERS AHEAD

    I loved it! Yes, Gale’s ending was a little rushed, but other than that, I agreed with everything (even Prim’s fate). That’s because Suzanne was trying to get a point across: War is shit. Both sides will be damaged no matter who wins. She wasn’t going to glorify Katniss’s side, and make it a Good vs. Bad thing. And you know, I didn’t really have sides in the love triangle, and it didn’t care much about it. The series had grown to be more important than Katniss’s own life, you know?

  15. Pingback: Warp Drive Sunday: Oct 6 – Oct 12 | Adrift on Vulcan

Submit Your Transmission

