Magic In Every Page: The Dream Thieves, Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)

Maggie Stiefvater

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

Whatever good stuff you heard about The Dream Thieves? It’s all true. This book was all I could ever hope for in a sequel — and more, if possible. After having read and enjoyed The Raven Boys, and after reading five-star review after five-star review, I’m not lying when I say that my expectations were space-high. I ended up sneak-reading this book at every opportunity I got, staying up way past midnight, reading during mealtimes, in between homework — and you know what? I don’t regret a single moment of it.

Summary: Like his father before him, Ronan is now being hunted down by the same people who want this impossible, but extraordinary power he has. But he isn’t the only one in danger. As Adam, Gansey, Blue, and Noah dive deeper into the confusion surrounding Cabeswater, their relationships take twists and turns as well. The last thing they need is to fall apart, as the enemy draws dangerously near.

After having experienced Maggie Stiefvater’s stunning and lyrical writing in The Raven Boys, I was ready for more. But nothing — nothing — could have prepared me for the beauty and magic I found in the sequel. The overall plot for The Dream Thieves remains the same: the five friends’ search for the ancient king, Glendower; only this time, there are other subplots underlying the main one, and our misunderstood character, Ronan Lynch, takes the wheel from Blue and Gansey.

I wasn’t looking forward to having Ronan in the front seat, despite what the rave reviews said. That was before. Now, I think it’s safe for me to say that doing this was necessary, because it provided so much more insight into Ronan and his attitude, and also made me hate him a little less than I did. He might have a cruel mouth and a heart of stone, but I got a much better understanding of him, and I know for sure that I won’t be forgetting him anytime soon. It also helped with the recap process — as much of the book is told from his perspective, Stiefvater was able to recap the events of the previous book much more smoothly, in my opinion.

But this isn’t to say that the others were ignored: no, we still get lots of Gansey and Blue, Maura and Persephone, Adam and Noah. And, my God, the romance — or lack of romance — was unbearable. Blue has always been told that if she kissed her true love, he would die. Never once have I been so frustrated with a curse like this! I don’t know how Maggie does it, but she’s created such charged chemistry between Blue and Gansey, even though the two don’t interact any more than they do with the rest. There was one particular scene that left me with butterflies that absolutely refused to go away for at least an hour.

Oh, Gansey.

It’s amazing how incredibly detailed each of the characters, even the minor ones, are. Especially the villains, of whom we know next to nothing about for the whole book. And yet, it isn’t hard to see how three-dimensional they are. Truth be told, though, I think I would have liked it better if the story had told us more about them, rather than just leaving us in the dark. Still, our lack of knowledge added more to the mystery and darkness surrounding the overall plot.

The plot was equally as good. Initially, I was a little anxious that the subplots would only serve to confuse me, but I should have known better. They were all distinct and easy to follow, despite the fact that everything was happening all at once. Stiefvater spent just the right amount of time on each of them, developing them into something so wonderfully complex and so beautifully woven, that it becomes increasingly hard to predict where the book is going — and that is the beauty of it all: not knowing what to expect. The whole time I was reading, my mind was blank, and my fingers couldn’t flip the pages fast enough.

The Dream Thieves was everything I could hope for in a sequel, and more. It’s greatest strength was… well, its greatest strength lay in everything. From the characters, even the unlikable ones, down to the tiny, seemingly unimportant story lines, Maggie Stiefvater does an incredible job. Now, I’ll have to go drown my sorrows in a good book and wait impatiently for 2014 to come, and hope that I will have enough Blue and Gansey the next time!

Who is this book for?

Read and loved The Raven Boys? Then what are you waiting for?! Go get this book now! Even if you didn’t like the previous book, I still think The Dream Thieves is a sequel you MUST read. You will love it. And if you haven’t even begun this series yet… then please go to the nearest bookstore and buy both the first and second book. Right now.

4.5 stars

BOOK SPECS:
439 pages, e-galley from NetGalley (thank you!)
Published September 17, 2013 by Scholastic
Purchase: The Book Depository • Amazon

^ Following my post yesterday, I’m going to try something new — to show you guys just how much I appreciate your comments, I’m going to try to include an appreciative gif or quote or something for every post, starting with this one! 

23 thoughts on “Magic In Every Page: The Dream Thieves, Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Hah! When The House of Hades comes out in 4 days, I’m going to be like forgetting about the world as I can read and finish it on the same day >.< No regrets. BUT I am regretting me DNFing The Raven Boys at like page 20 or something. I think I should try it again…

    Fab review, hun! <33

    • YOU SHOULD. Would it help if I said please in my best puppy dog voice? *clears throat* Pweeeaasssseee, Melanie, go give it another go! I’m super pumped for HOUSE OF HADES as well, though I’ll have to wait for my friend to get it, since I’ve been borrowing the series from him. Fingers crossed we both enjoy it!

  2. Ack >< I actually can't believe that I've not read The Raven Boys! :O Shocking shocking, yes I know, after seeing every single five star glowing review out there!
    I've heard so much, and I know I definitely will be needing to pick up this novel soon! I like a book that's hard to predict, with twists, and seeing how you read even between meal times, it must be THAT good!
    I think Maggie Stiefvater has a magical ability in creating and crafting her plot and each and every one of her characters. Have you read the Scorpio Races? Did you like it? I most certainly did, even if all her female protagonists have the oddest names! xD
    This looks like a beautiful, compelling read that I'll be needing to pick up soon!
    Fantastic review, Meg! 😀

    • It’s actually kind of surprising how many people haven’t read it yet, so I won’t hold it against you. After all, the first book only came out last year. 😛 But I’m so glad all these rave reviews are convincing you to give the series a go! It takes a while to get into the rhythm of THE RAVEN BOYS, but once you’re in, there’s no getting out. TDT is even better.

      TRB and TDT are actually the only books by Maggie that I’ve read! I really want to give THE SCORPIO RACES a go, though, so it’s encouraging that you liked it. Odd names make them more memorable, no? Thanks, Emily!

  3. Dude the hype surrounding this books is so ridiculously massive. I’m kind of hesitant about reading it because I didn’t love The Raven Boys (I liked it, but didn’t think it was amazing). Also, literally the only two characters I remember from TRB are Gansey and Blue (well, at least I remember someone hehe). I should probs reread it before getting into The Dream Thieves…
    I think I have fairly similar tastes in reading to you though, so I think I will read it soon 🙂

    • I KNOW. I was stunned when I saw how many positive reviews that were popping up. But like I said, though my expectations were incredibly high, I was not disappointed at all. LOL, same here. (Ganseeeyyyy <3) But don't worry, because Maggie does a great recapping job. Yay, Nara!

  4. “Whatever good stuff you heard about The Dream Thieves? It’s all true.” YAY I really enjoyed Raven Boys and have sky high expectations for this. So it’s good to hear that it doesn’t disappoint.

    “our misunderstood character, Ronan Lynch, takes the wheel from Blue and Gansey.” Double YAY! I just love Ronan so much. He’s handsdown my favorite character. But I ❤ Gansey too. And ship Gansey and Blue so hard. I don't mind the lack of romance though, as long as there is no love triangle.

    Awesome review! Now I really can't wait to read it myself 🙂

    • If you loved TRB, then I’m pretty sure you’ll adore this one as well! LOL, you’re amongst the very few who had a love for Ronan in the first book. Unfortunately I couldn’t look past his jerkish attitude. T_T OMG I KNOW. So much chemistry, I think I might die! And there IS a love triangle, between Gansey and Adam and Blue, but it’s so subtle and so well done that you won’t notice it at all. Hope you get the chance to read it soon, Cayce!

  5. Woot! I skimmed your review, because I haven’t read this yet, but I’m so glad to know that you loved it! Can’t wait to finally start reading this one. 😀

  6. MEG, I AM SO GLAD TO SEE YOU LOVED THE DREAM THIEVES! HOLY CRAP I WAS FLAILING AFTER I FINISHED READING IT. Ok,ok, I’m calm now. Anyway, In The Raven Boys, Ronan was my favourite character EVER so I had to read the Dream Thieves and I absolutely loved it. The Blue and Gansey romance: the ship sails itself, THE FEEELLLLSSSSSS. Enough obsessive ranting for me! I need to learn to control my emotions. *deep breath* I seriously LOVED this book but the only thing that icked me was the Noah & Blue scene. I wanted to punch Blue in the face. And when Ronan threw Noah out of the window? Priceless. I see so much potential in the Noah + Ronan bromance, they seem like the best group of friends. All in all, I think we can agree that the wait for the next Raven Cycle book will be horrendous.

    • LET ME FANGIRL WITH YOU, OMG! Well, I’m pretty sure TDT was more meaningful to you since Ronan was already your favorite character. 🙂 I’ve grown to really like him, horrible attitude and all. HECK YES. BLUE AND GANSEY. They don’t even TALK much and there’s chemistry sizzling all OVER. I actually found that scene kind of sweet, because it showed that Blue isn’t your “I’ll wait for my true love” kind of girl, and she’s willing to take risks. And it also made Noah a lot more human than I ever thought he was.

      Noah + Ronan: Definitely! I’m so excited that it’s not going to be a trilogy anymore!

  7. I had FINALLY calmed down and adopted a stoic attitude towards my lack of ability to get my hands on a copy of this book. And then I read this post.

    Stoicism shattered.

    I got butterflies just from reading your review – how am I going to handle reading the actual thing?? TELL ME THAT MEGGY. You’re going to be receiving a bill for the psychiatric care I’m going to need in the following weeks.

  8. Why didn’t I read this one by now? Just tell me why? I really enjoyed The Raven Boys even though it was not my fave book by Maggie but after reading so many brilliant reviews for The Dream Thieves I think this one will be. I cannot wait to experience Blue and Gansey’s romance, it sounds soooo good. Damn I need to stop time or find more hours or something. Meeeeg stop the time now!!! 😀 Amazing review girl 🙂

    • Yes, why?! Haha, but if you enjoyed TRB, then I’m pretty sure you’ll love this one. I definitely didn’t enjoy TRB as much as I did for this, so there’s still hope for you! I wish I could, Tanja. But I’m no time machine. 😦 Thanks!

  9. “I don’t know how Maggie does it, but she’s created such charged chemistry between Blue and Gansey, even though the two don’t interact any more than they do with the rest.”

    THIS. I love how she’s managed to do so much with Gansey and Blue’s relationship and with the minimum amount of action and words. Less really is more!

    I’m completely relieved that this book worked for you, Meg! Honestly, every time I read another review for this series, I just want to start over and re-read the two books again. I’m nervous about what might (or might not!) happen in the next installment, but I really can’t wait to find out.

    Fantastic review, lovely!

    • I almost didn’t survive it, Sam! Especially THAT scene. Literally gave me goosebumps all over.

      I’m actually going to order both TRB and TDT so that I can experience the magic all over again. Because of my book amnesia, I can’t remember anything about THE RAVEN BOYS, except that they were searching for ley lines and Glendower. After that, everything is a blank. So I think it would be marv if I could re-read it again! So am I, so am I. Let’s just hope for the best and let Maggie do the rest.

      Thanks, Sam! ❤

  10. Pingback: Warp Drive Sunday: Sept 29 – Oct 5 | Adrift on Vulcan

  11. You’re right, it was such an amazing book! And Ronan deserved all the spotlight he got ❤ I'm really hoping he'll have his own point of view in the other two books. He's too good not to have.

    I agree about the characters – while we were mostly kept in the dark for some of them, by the end of the book, I knew things about each of them. Even Kavinsky (who may have been twisted, but very funny sometimes). I've seen some people on GR say that this one was missing the magic from The Raven Boys, but I disagree – The Dream Thieves was even better.

    And I'm dying for more Blue and Gansey <333 As well as two other people together and one of them is Ronan. 'Nuff said. Lovely review!

    • It was definitely enlightening to read things from his perspective. I got a much better understand of who he was on a whole!

      Oh, Kavinsky. I’m not too sure what to think about him, but I agree — he’s pretty twisted and funny. And a little crazy, too. WHUT. Who said that? How?! Yes, THE DREAM THIEVES was even better than the first book, and it was FULL of magic. That person needs to get their brains fixed.

      I don’t think I’ll be able to take anymore chemistry between them! The swoons, it’s too much. ❤ Thanks, Eve!

Submit Your Transmission

