Warp Drive Sunday: Sept 15 – Sept 21

This week’s been a bit stressful for me because I’ve been having some difficulty with juggling school and blogging together, which is why I haven’t been able to comment back as quickly as I could before, so I apologize! Weekends are the worst, though, because I’m usually out the whole day. I promise I’ll get back to all your comments as soon as possible. Thanks for bearing with me!

What’s gone on this week, Captain?

Book Updates

Where the Stars Still ShineRelativityThe Enchanter Heir (The Heir Chronicles, #4)

Finished Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller
Currently reading Relativity by Cristin Bishara
Up next The Enchanter Heir by Cinda Williams Chima

Notable Expeditions

What about you?

If you’ve noticed, this past couple of weeks, I’ve been trying a new form of commenting. What, what?! Nah, it’s really simple. Christina from Christina Reads YA inspired me with her ultra long, ultra thoughtful comments, and I though: “Hey, I want to be like that!” So instead of writing only one paragraph of a comment, I try to pick out things that strike me in reviews and discussion posts and elaborate on them with my own opinions. I don’t know if it’s working so far, but what do you think? Do you prefer long, meaningful (or not, since I can’t tell with mine) comments, or do you prefer short and sweet ones? And if you’ve seen some of my recent comments, do you think they’re too long and too full of MY opinions? I don’t want to turn comments into something about me, after all, since the post I’m commenting on is about YOU. Let me know!

19 thoughts on “Warp Drive Sunday: Sept 15 – Sept 21

  1. I really like long comments though I admit I’m not always very good at giving them! Blogging can sometimes be a thankless business – writing posts can take forever and often there’s no feedback so it’s always really rewarding to have someone engage with your content even if it’s just to agree with you! And I wouldn’t worry about being too self-focussed – people want to hear what you think otherwise they wouldn’t have comments! I always want to interact with readers but it can be hard if their comments consist only of ‘I agree!’ and ‘This is great!’ – how are you supposed to respond to that?! 🙂

  2. The long comments are good! (Not that I ever write long comments 😛 too lazy lol) They really do show that you’ve read the post properly and care enough to write a thoughtful comment! And I think it’s fine to put in a lot of your own opinions in comments- isn’t that the point of writing them? 🙂

  3. I like your long comments, too. Comments are like books, the longer the better 😀 I try to write long-ish comments, but most of the time they turn out to be rather short. I wonder why… LOL But I hope they are sweet at least 🙂

    Aww, love the cover of Relativity! And I like alternate reality stories, so I’m looking forward to your review.

  4. I’ve mentally dubbed Christina the Queen of Comments – she ALWAYS makes my day when she stops by. I completely appreciate all types of comments on my blog though – long, rambly, thoughtful, short and sweet – but it is nice when you can tell for sure that someone has read your content.

    I’m really looking forward to seeing what you think of Relativity, by the way! I love the premise for that book, and hope it’s as good as it sounds. And I completely understand what it’s like to balance real life with blogging. Don’t worry about it too much. Do what works best for you! 🙂

  5. I love your uber long comments! It always makes me smile when your little icon pops up on my posts 🙂 Plus, it gives me something to talk about with you, and bounce ideas and thoughts back and forth!

  6. I love your long comments! They are always meaningful and I love hearing your opinions about things 🙂 So if you want to keep up the long comments, don’t worry, everyone probably loves them!

  7. I want Where the Stars Still Shine NOW! I am so excited to read it. Gahh, so excited. I can’t wait to see what you have thought of it.

    I love recap posts so much. Discussion-y posts are always my favorite, so I love having a nice list to refer back to.

    Keep the long comments coming! I love all kinds of comments, but it always means a lot to me when someone really took the time to read over my post. I love hearing everyone’s opinions, even if I don’t agree because it can really add to a discussion.

  8. I looooveee long comments. It strangely makes me giddy. I feel like it really shows that the person has read my reviews or my discussion posts thoroughly. And long comments leave more room for discussion. There are plenty of things I can reply to.

    Keep it up! 😀

  9. Meg, why does your blog have to be so darn cute?! I just love your Star Trek theme going on here. ❤

    Also, um… does anyone actually complain about receiving a long, thoughtful comment?! I sometimes feel guilty because I don't think mine are long enough, but sometimes I just can't think of much to say. 😦 But yeah… you can leave comments as long as you want on my blog! I love discussion! 😀

  10. I love any comment as long as it’s meaningful. Some people can do that in just few lines but others like to elaborate and discuss. Either of those style totally fine by me. And thanks for sharing all these awesome discussion posts!

  11. I’ve meant to read Cinda’s fantasy series for so long now. I actually bought the first one but I’ve been putting it off. I guess because it’s an older series, and sometimes I feel like it’s daunting to start one when I’m so many books behind. But I’ve heard so many good things about it! I hope you enjoy the series 😀

  12. I love your comments! I mean, I suck at leaving long, thoughtful comments, I do believe I’m known for leaving lame ones 😉

    I hope you enjoy Relativity, the cover is gorgeous! <33

  13. First of I love your comments! 🙂 You always put a smile on my face and I’m so happy every time you visit my blog :))
    Also I cannot wait to see what you think of Relativity. I have heard some pretty amazing things about it. I hope you’ll love it too. Great post 🙂

Submit Your Transmission

