Quiz: 10 Quotes Every Bookworm Should Know

I decided to do something different today, and because I simply LOVE bookish quizzes, here’s my hand at one!

Here’s how it goes.

I’m going to list down ten quotes every self-proclaimed bookworm should know (nah, I’m just saying that. No worries if you can’t guess some of them, because even though I’m a self-proclaimed bookworm I know there’re many well-known books out there that I haven’t read either!). What you’re supposed to do is guess which book the quote comes from. Type up your answers in the comments, press publish, and then check and see if you got them correct! I hope none of you will cheat, because where’s the fun in that?

Without further ado, let us begin!

It gets harder and harder. You’re welcome.

1. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

ANSWER: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

2. “I’m twelve years old. Until a few months ago, I was a boarding student at Yancy Academy, a private school for troubled kids in upstate New York.
Am I a troubled kid?
Yeah. You could say that.”

ANSWER: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

3. “You don’t forget the face of the person who was your last hope.”

ANSWER: The Hunger Games

4. “The world is not a wish-granting factory.”

ANSWER: The Fault in Our Stars

5. “Everything in this room is edible. Even I’m edible. But, that would be called cannibalism. It is looked down upon in most societies.”

ANSWER: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

6. “Not all those who wander are lost.”

ANSWER: The Fellowship of the Ring

7. “They are orphans again, with no true home but each other and whatever life they can make together on the other side of the sea.”

ANSWER: Shadow and Bone

8. “Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.”

ANSWER: Divergent

9. “You are a monster. You will always be a monster—there is no turning back from it. But what type of monster you become is entirely up to you.”

ANSWER: The Immortal Rules

10. “I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.

ANSWER: To Kill a Mockingbird

Over to you!

Too easy? Too hard? Moderate? Okay, I’m a little new at this quiz thing, so I apologize if this seems a little unfair. However, I did choose quotes from only well-known books. Anyway, what you about you? Are there any quotes you think every booklover should know? Feel free to share them below!

This post was submitted to the Let’s Discuss feature hosted by Oh, Chrys! and The Fiction Conniption

34 thoughts on “Quiz: 10 Quotes Every Bookworm Should Know

  1. 1. Harry Potter
    2. Percy Jackson
    3. One of the Hunger Games books (which one?!)
    4. ?
    5. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
    6. I KNOW THIS ONE…. Really, I do! *scratches head*
    7. Shadow and Bone
    8. Divergent
    9. The Immortal Rules? Or was it The Eternity Cure? I remember quoting this in one of my reviews!
    10. Pfft. No idea.

    I suck. I feel like I should know them all. 😛 Off to check my answers now!

  2. 1. Harry Potter
    2. Percy Jackson
    3. The Hunger Games
    4. The Fault in Our Stars
    5. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
    6. Dr Seuss…? omg
    7. …?
    8. Divergent
    9. ….? (THIS ONE IS SO FAMILIAR OMG BUT I CANNOT PLACE IT)
    10. …? (Nope, no idea where this one is from)

    Checking my answers now! 😀

  3. 1. HARRY POTTER! (can’t remember which one though haha)
    2. The Lightning Thief 😀
    3. uh..don’t know.
    4. THE FAULT IN OUR STARS EEEEEEE!
    5. don’t know
    6. One of the books in the LOTR trilogy- The Fellowship?
    7. Shadow and Bone!
    8. I feel like I’ve seen this one before, but I can’t remember
    9. gah! This one’s so familiar!!
    10. To Kill a Mockingbird 😀

    Fun quiz! I love quizzes haha ❤

    • gaaaaah! Divergent! And The Immortal Rules! And The Hunger Games! I’ve read all of those!!
      HOW DID I NOT GET CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY!? I love that book 😀

  4. Yay, I love quizes!

    1. HP, obv.
    2. haven’t read it
    3. fail….
    4. haven’t read it
    5. Only watched the movie, but guessed it right. Go, me!
    6. fail #2
    7. haven’t read it
    8. this one was easy 🙂
    9. this one too
    10. haven’t read it

    4/10…. or 4/5 if we only count the ones I’ve read.

  5. GAHHH, MEGGG. I am terrible at remembering things, especially from books. The only one I know is #5 – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. DDDDD: THIS IS HORRIBLE. (Tears are streaming down my face. ;D) Though, I’ve only read a few books from that list.

  6. I knew 5 quotes. There are 3 books I haven’t read, so obvious I don’t know those quotes (although I know 6 because of the movie. I can’t stand the books :p) So I’ve read 7 books and 2 quotes just didn’t come up in my mind :p (quotes 3 and 8) The first one was by far the easiest one of course, haha ❤

  7. 1. Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore
    2. Percy Jackson (from The Lightning Thief)
    3. Katniss Everdeen (Catching Fire)?
    4. I CANNOT remember for the life of me…
    5. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory!
    6. Bilbo, speaking about Aragorn in The Fellowship of the Ring
    7. Yeah I have no idea
    8. No idea, but I like it!
    9. Sounds like a Frankenstein thing, but Mary Shelley’s writing isn’t that pretty
    10. Oh God. WHY CAN’T I REMEMBER???

    Okay, now to check…

    How did I miss #4??? Well that explains #7, I haven’t read that book. Oh haven’t read #8 either. #9 either. And oh my god I AM A FAILURE HOW COULD I HAVE FORGOTTEN #10. SHAME ON MY ME, MY FAMILY, AND MY COW.

  8. I like book quizzes, so I was super excited about this but then…
    I only guessed for sure the LOTR and the Divergent quotes. I recognize a couple but can’t place them.
    Oh no…

  9. This quiz is a major fail for me. I didn’t get any besides The Fault in Our Stars. The Hunger Games quote was so easy, ahh this just proves I’m not that good remembering words. 😀

  10. I cannot believe that I couldn’t remember #6! *headdesk* Damn but I love that quote and then my brain just stopped. My fave from these is “The world is not a wish-granting factory.” One of my favorite quotes ever. Also I should be ashamed that I couldn’t guess the last one. Yeah I fail. Great post!

  11. So I got 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 8. The others I haven’t read apart from 9 which I got wrong *cry*

    Thanks for sharing, hon! <33

  12. Okay… Here I go…
    1.) Absolutely no idea.
    2.) I really don’t know this one either. I want to say Catcher in the Rye, but I know that’s not right.
    3.) The Hunger Games
    4.) The Fault in Our Stars
    5.) CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY! This is one of my most favorite quotes.
    6.) I have heard this repeated so often, but I can’t place it.
    7.) Shadow and Bone
    8.) Divergent
    9.) Don’t really recognize this quote.
    10.) To Kill a Mockingbird. I just reread this one a few weeks ago, so I feel pretty confident in this answer.

  13. Oh my gosh. this is hard. But I love the quiz. I’m just completely blanking. I’m sure I’ve read some of these books. If I haven’t, then I’ll definitely feel better. But if Harry Potter is number 1 like every says then I am a horrible, horrible reader O_O I hope you end up doing more quizzes! Maybe then I’ll see a quote I know 😀

  14. 1. Harry Potter <– I would know this anywhere!!
    2. Percy Jackson <– Yancy Academy HAHA. Total giveaway XD
    3. The Hunger Games <– aww I had to think long and hard to remember 😦
    4. The Fault In Our Stars <– YES I REMEMBER
    5. Charlie and The Chocolate Factory <– my childhooooooood
    6. …. ERR. Sounds familiar but OMG have I read this before?!
    7. Shadow and Bone <– OF COURSE BWAHAHA
    8. Divergent <– easy peasy lemon squeezy!!
    9. Hmm… maybe I haven't read this one ehehehe
    10. What? Idk this D:

    Hmm…. 7/10 is a passing score right XD Anyway, YAY this was so fun ❤ Thanks for sharing Meggy 🙂

  15. Pingback: Weekly Recap | Sept 15-21 | Celestial Carousel

  16. Pingback: Bookish Recap: September 15th – 21st | A Bookish Heart

  17. Pingback: Warp Drive Sunday: Sept 15 – Sept 21 | Adrift on Vulcan

  18. Pingback: Weekend Recap (September 16 – 22) | Flip That Page

  19. No…No…no…I’m not even going to attempt answering this post. I’m horrible at quotes which you’d probably observe if you read my reviews. I seldom quote quotes.

    In my entire reading life, I can only remember less than 20 quotes… Yeah, I am not a book nerd. *sighs*

Submit Your Transmission

