Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Love to See As A Movie

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and Bookish, where the participants list down the top ten books/bookish things according to the given topic.

Top Ten Books I’d Love to See As A Movie

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

One of my favorite series of all time (it’s up there with Harry and Katniss), and this book has such a colorful cast of characters that I’d just LOVE to see them all come to life in a movie. Especially the Darkling. Ravka is also another place I would love to visit. Of course, there’s always the problem of the movie being made terrible by a smart-ass director. Like Chris Columbus. UGH.

2. All Our Yesterdays by Cristin TerrillAll Our Yesterdays

I remember reading one scene inside this book and thinking, “That would work so well on the big screen.” I also think it would be really cool to see time travel in action, because I can’t remember seeing any recent time travel movies! Back to the Future is the only time travel film I’ve seen, I think.

The Diviners (The Diviners, #1)3. The Diviners by Libba Bray

This book is absolutely chilling! It was actually one of the only books that managed to scare me (though it was only a little), and Evie, the protagonist, is such a fun character that I think seeing an actress who can portray her personality perfectly would be nothing short of divine. Plus, it’s set in 1920’s New York, and that’s one of my favorite time eras ever.

4. Stormdancer by Jay KristoffStormdancer (The Lotus War, #1)

One word: BURUU.

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden, #1)5. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Who needs Edward Cullen and Bella Swan anymore? It’s time for badass vampires and awesome weapons and an Asian protagonist for once!

6. Ink by Amanda Sun 

Ink (Paper Gods, #1)

Even though this book could have been a lot better in my opinion, it’s set in Japan, and it features drawings coming to life! Not REALLY original, but I think it would be cool to see a Japanese guy with a pencil/brush painting something in his sketchbook and then seeing it move and come to life.

172 Hours on the Moon7. 172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad

I order you to go read that blurb. I’m guessing if a movie came out for this book, it’d look something like Apollo 18… which I’ve admittedly never watched, but both have very cool premises, plus it’s SCI-FI. On the MOON. And you know I’m a sucker for those kinds of things! Also, the book has one of the best endings ever.

8. Angelfall by Susan EeAngelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)

Angelfall is one of the best angel books I’ve read and it’s set after an apocalypse – by angels! I’d love to see how the world in this book would look like, plus Raffe and Penryn have SIZZLING chemistry, which would be great onscreen.

Crewel (Crewel World, #1)9. Crewel by Gennifer Albin

Crewel has one of the most creative and unique premises ever, where special people called Spinsters and Crewelers have the ability to alter time and matter. I loved this book, and just thinking of the visual effects that might or might not be amazing is enough to make me start bouncing a little in my seat.

10. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

I’m not sure if this book has been already optioned for film (so many YA books have been!), but either way, Throne of Glass is another epic fantasy with a protagonist who is ALSO an assassin. Whoa, right? And then there is the fact that I’m the only girl on the Prince Dorian boat…

Over to you!

This week’s topic was originally titled “Books I’d Love to See As A Movie/TV show,” but since I don’t watch TV (I’m missing out on a lot, I know!), I removed that last bit. But eh, while I would love to see YA books come to life, I can’t help but think of the amazing track record directors have of totally butchering the plot. I don’t understand – why can’t they just stick to the original story? What do you think, though? Am I being overly dramatic? And, as usual, link me up to your TTT posts!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Love to See As A Movie

  1. I’d LOVE to see Shadow and Bone, All Our Yesterdays and Angelfall as movies! I think Shadow and Bone will be a little like Game of Thrones (minus the constant nudity and swearing, though). And if they ever make All Our Yesterdays into a movie, I really want to see how they’ll do the whole back-and-forth between Em and Marina’s POVs.

    And I want Angelfall as a movie because of Raffe and Penryn. Because they’re awesome ❤

  2. All of Our Yesterdays – I’ve been seeing a lot of positive reviews of it, so it’s one that I want to read. I kinda like time travel stories but I’ve only read one time travel book and I’ve definitely watched a lot more time travel movies. If you’re interested, Looper is one of the more recent time travel movies starring Bruce Willis and Joseph Gordon Levitt.

  3. 1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

    It’s one of my favorite series of all time too!! I’m kind of afraid of what they’d do to the Darkling though. I have seen this mentioned in a few other TTTs but but but o.O what if they really emphasized the love triangle because of Twilight and all the THG? I take it your comment on Christopher Columbus means that you didn’t like the first two HP movies? I actually thought they were really good and really well adapted from the books! The rest deviated more than I wanted o.O. But as a side note, didn’t the same producer from HP pick up S&B? Unlikely that he’d hire CC again since he didn’t for all the other movies…

    2. All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

    I still haven’t read this one, but have you seen the webisodes? I have no trouble picturing exactly what you said – about it being on the big screen- just because of those videos. Very dramatic.

    3. The Diviners by Libba Bray

    YOU’RE RIGHT. I didn’t even think of this one, but if they got the fervor from the Gatsby movie (20s! Show it in Evie’s pos-i-tutely positive attitude!) and gave it the supernatural twinge, it’d be so great to see! The villain was really creepy, so I could see why it scared you o.O. Naughty John. *shudders*

    5. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

    Yes. Yes to Asian protagonist and the kick-ass vampire. I was imagining this one as a sort of Kill Bill set in a post-apocalyptic setting… and how my heart began to beat. Lol. I actually think it’d do really well too!

    8. Angelfall by Susan EeAngelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)

    YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES. If I say yes enough times, will that work? Angel apocalypse. It being one of the best angel books you and I have read. Raffe and Penryn and their chemistry. The gritty world & setting. *sigh*

    10. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

    Lol. You’re not the only girl on the PD boat. I’m not, but I got into an email chain discussion with another blogger about Crown of Midnight. Have you read that yet? And yes: assassin. The thing I’d be worried about is if they tamed Celaena to appeal to a wider audience.

    “But eh, while I would love to see YA books come to life, I can’t help but think of the amazing track record directors have of totally butchering the plot. I don’t understand – why can’t they just stick to the original story?” <– Not overly dramatic! I think it's in every book lover's nature to get upset over the adaptations of their favorites :).

    • 1. Oh my gosh, you’re right. Well, let’s pretend we live in a world where movie producers and directors don’t screw up the characters and plot, shall we? 😛 Nah, the first two HP movies were fine — I really liked them. I’m talking about Percy Jackson & the Lightning Thief, which I absolutely HATED. My memory on it is a bit fuzzy, but I can remember that they added a lot of bullshit and totally messed up the plot. Oh yes, he did! David Heyman or something.

      2. How have I not heard of this?! *goes to Google* OKAY, I’ll definitely be watching the webisodes now. Thanks for telling me about that!

      3. Are you talking about the recent Gatsby movie? The one with DiCaprio? I haven’t watched it yet, but from the trailer it looks like they got the era done spot-on, so I agree with you! It would be fun to see who would be cast as Evie and Naughty John.

      5. Only if they don’t turn it into some Twilight rip-off!

      8. The book is already pretty popular, so I’m guessing it won’t be long before a production company notices it and options it for film! MAYBE WE SHOULD SIGN A PETITION.

      10. Nope, but I really want to, because I’ve been seeing all these rave reviews… Hmm, that’s a problem. Just like how they toned down quite a bit of the violence in THG so that it could fit into PG-13. (There was hardly any violence in the film, which was disappointing.) Hopefully not!

      Totally!

    • So do I! I mean, at least half of my bookshelf is full of unread books I’d bought. D: I really hope you like it, Sana, and you really should check out some of the books on here. Especially Shadow & Bone and Throne of Glass. LOVE those two.

  4. You are NOT being overly dramatic! It is absolutely not wrong to want and expect them to do well by the fans and make movies that are faithful to the feel of the book. The thing is, movie producers – by and large – don’t really care about that. They care about the money and they don’t care what gets changed and how horrible to movie ends up being in the process (Percy Jackson, Ella Enchanted – I’m looking at you).

    So yes, in an ideal world, I agree with your reasonings as to why all of these would make amazing movies! I’m happy we both had Shadow and Bone and Throne of Glass on our lists – wouldn’t it be amazing to be able to see those lush worlds and buildings come to life? But I would probably be VERY critical of who they cast for my fav characters – Alina, Mal, The Darkling, Sturmhond, Celaena, Chaol. The characters are often the hardest part. If only they could do open casting calls all the time to find the exact right person who can look and act like the characters… sigh.

    • EXACTLY. And it makes me so mad, but at the same time, I keep convincing myself that this movie will be better. It won’t be like last time. This is a different director. Most of the time I end up disappointed. Yes — the PJ movies were horrible! I hated them so much.

      And I would be the same. Like for Annabeth in the first Percy Jackson movie? I have no idea why Columbus decided to change her hair color. And call me picky, but I don’t really agree with the choice for Four in Divergent, no matter how good looking the actor is (which is… not really. He looks too old!). Oh, and don’t forget Dorian. 😉

  5. Angelfall and Immortal Rules would make AWESOME movies. Angelfall especially 🙂 Other that these two I’ve only read Ink, but I wasn’t a huge fan of that book. But maybe it would be better in movie form. The setting would definitely help 😉

  6. Pingback: Warp Drive Sunday: Sept 8 – 14 | Adrift on Vulcan

  7. Pingback: Warp Drive Sunday: Oct 6 – Oct 12 | Adrift on Vulcan

Submit Your Transmission

