Sci-Fi Saturday: The Hyperloop

This was actually in the news more than two weeks ago, but I thought it would still be fun to share about here: the hyperloop is the newest idea Californian billionaire Elon Musk (co-founder of PayPal) has come up with. People are saying that this is as close to teleportation as we’ve ever gotten before.

Hold on, what is this hyperloop thingamabob?

It is a proposed mode of transportation where passengers sit inside a capsule that moves in a tube at nearly eight hundred miles per hour. That’s about the speed of sound! The proposed route for the hyperloop at this moment is from LA to San Francisco, and if successful, passengers will be able to travel between these two cities within thirty minutes. Can you believe that? I mean, the last time I went to the States – which was late August last year – and my family had to drive from the LA airport to our hotel in SF, it took us nearly seven hours.

To cut seven hours into thirty minutes? That’s insane. People are skeptical, sure, but Elon Musk has had a track record of success, so will the hyperloop be added onto that list of successes as well? I definitely hope so! Here’s just some impressions of how the hyperloop might look like:

Artist’s sketch for the Hyperloop [1]

Looks groovy and totally futuristic, no?! [2]

The tube the Hyperloop will be traveling in. [3]

Proposed route for the Hyperloop transit concept. [4]

There’re a bunch of other things – like how this thing will be built, the air space needed – but I don’t want to bore you with those details! If you want to read more about it, though, I’ve included links down below so you can check it out.

All I can say is: wow. Just imagine if suddenly the world around you had all these glass tubes rising from the ground, with hyper-fast capsules traveling to and fro. Sounds right out of a science fiction movie, right? Even though I’ll probably have no use for the Hyperloop if it’s built, it’s still super fascinating stuff and proof that technology is indeed progressing.

Over to you!

What do you think of the Hyperloop? Do you think it’s possible to build such a mode of transport? Are you as excited about it as I am, or am I just geeking out on y’all?

[1]: http://editorial.autos.msn.com/blogs/post--elon-musk-unveils-hyperloop-high-speed-shuttle
[2]: http://editorial.autos.msn.com/blogs/post--elon-musk-unveils-hyperloop-high-speed-shuttle
[3]: http://editorial.autos.msn.com/blogs/post--elon-musk-unveils-hyperloop-high-speed-shuttle
[4]: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-23677205
23 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Saturday: The Hyperloop

  1. Ahh I remember seeing this on the news over here too! I geek out over things like this all the time, so I can’t help but find it exciting and interesting, even if it does seem unlikely to most people right now. I’m not convinced that it’ll happen in my lifetime, I have to admit, but I don’t think it’s impossible. It almost makes me wish I could travel to the future somehow, just to see what it’s all like. 🙂

    • I don’t think it’s very possible either! Stuff like this make me wish I was born in the future, you know, when space travel and all sorts of futuristic designs are REAL. Hey, Sam, let’s go build a time machine together. *evil cackle*

  2. YES I WANT THIS. I know it won’t be as good as teleportation but it would be a good alternative to trains. It’s exciting to see technology advance and all these proposals coming up, though it makes me sad that it might not be in our lifetime where we’ll see a very futuristic sci-fi world 😦

  3. That would be really convenient for long-distance travelling! I mean, I wouldn’t be able to stay on my seat for 10 straight hours without feeling bored :/ Plus, imagine how much time we can save if there’s such transportaion like this! I’m no scientist but I hope there would be something like this in the future!

    • I’m pretty sure they’ll test it out with a couple of rats – or monkeys, if they want to go closer to the human effect – so it’ll have to be cleared for safety before anyone rides in it, I’m sure. Or, wait! Maybe the speed is too great and there’s not enough air circulation and your eyeballs start to swell up until it pops. Unnecessary gore, Meg. Unnecessary gore.

  4. I haven’t heard of this! I think it’s a cool idea, but I’m not sure if I’d get the guts to try it! What if it crashes or something? It looks like you could easily be killed in it. Plus, what if you have to pee two minutes after it takes off? haha. It’s like a claustrophobic person’s worst nightmare!

  5. Yes, PLEASE! Who would want to sit through a bajillion of hour ride when you can do it for 30 minutes or even lesser (just hoping)? Life is too short to be spent on enduring a 4-10 hour travel. Come to think of it, if hyperloop evolves into a spaceship, the possibilities are endless. Travel to Mars or any other planets would certainly be a breeze.

    Have you heard if Elon Musk is already looking for beta tester applicants? I would definitely sign up for this.

    • Right you are! I know, right? Now I’m sitting here and crossing my fingers and PRAYING that all this will happen in my lifetime. The Hyperloop isn’t built yet, and if I’m not mistaken, they’re estimating at least a year for it to be built, so beta testers would have to wait!

  6. Where did I hear about this before? Was it in a Vsauce video? Probably. But omg that sounds sooo cool! And it looks awesome. If I ever get one, I’ll probably get it customized with a pun written across it. Have to think of the pun first, though.

  7. Scary and exciting at the same time! Isn’t it fantastic that the human mind is capable of coming up with these things – and then actually can build it? On one hand, I’m afraid for the sci-fi world we often see in movies, on the other side, it does has something thrilling.

  8. I heard about this the last time (and first time) I went to California! Elon Musk is such a genius. My brother works for Space X, which Elon Musk runs, and they’re building rockets to take people to space, and they’re hoping to terraform Mars. It’s insane all that Elon is doing.

  9. Whoa. Okay, I remember watching this documentary thing by Stephen Hawking and it talked about time travel and the various ways in which it could happen — and why none of those methods would ever actually work, lol. But anyway, the most plausible one was something similar to this hyperloop. It basically proposed this shuttle that went all the way around the circumference of the earth at the speed of light (or close to it), for 100 years. But since it was going so fast, time would be moving very slowly inside the shuttle, and basically after 100 years the shuttle would stop but the people would only have aged 1 year (and it would have felt like they’d only lived on the shuttle for 1 year), so they’d essentially have traveled 100 years into the future. CRAZY.

    But anyway. I had no idea they were making strides toward ACTUALIZING this idea! How incredible! I love this post! I hope you do more Sci-Fi Saturdays!

    • Leave it to Hawking to dash man’s dreams. 😛 And that sounds really insane… and totally logical at the same time. Too bad we still haven’t figured out how to build anything remotely close to the speed of light, though. Thanks, Kelley! I’m actually hoping to have them every fortnight.

      • Yeah, I think the biggest problem with that whole idea is that… how’s that thing going to be maintained for 100 YEARS, you know? O_O

        Anyway, I shared this post with my husband and he also thought it was cool. Can’t wait to see what else you share. 😀

Submit Your Transmission

