Tagged! 7 Deadly Sins of Reading

Thanks to Nara at Looking for the Panacea for tagging me! Now it’s my turn to share my seven deadly sins of reading.

Greed

What is your most expensive book? Your least expensive?

HMM. This is hard! I don’t admit to be a huge book hoarder, because I am trying to save up for a laptop, so I guess I haven’t really spent a lot of money on a single book, but I think it was Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, at $35. Bought that one a long time ago. My least expensive was Hunger by Michael Grant, at $2.

Wrath

Which author do you have a love-hate relationship with?

Lauren Oliver. After having loved the first two books of her Delirium trilogy, Requiem failed me! I mean, I didn’t hate it. It was just kind of disappointing, in a way, because I expected so much more, but all I got was… a crappy ending. Eh.

Gluttony

What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

HARRY POTTER! I’ll never get tired of it!

Sloth

What book have you neglected to read due to laziness?

I wish I could say that I never neglected reading a book I owned, but I’d be lying. Well… I’ve been putting off reading The Two Towers, which is the second book in the LotR series, and I just can’t get pass it! Too many descriptions, songs everywhere, not enough bloody action. Gah. I can’t bring myself to go through that torture. I  promise I’ll finish the entire series before I die, though. Really.

Pride

What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde, or The Hobbit. The first one is a classic which I wouldn’t have read at all if not for school, so I’m very proud that I’ve read a classic play, because those aren’t really my genres. The Hobbit is because I hang out with these group of friends very often, and ALL of them are LotR fans, so whenever I want to sound clever or like I know what they’re talking about (most of the time I don’t), I say things from The Hobbit.

Lust

What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

Ooh! I’m going to have a ton of fun with this one. 😉 Okay, so I really like it when the guy has curly brown hair. I mean, it would be so nice to run your hand through, no?! Also, if he wears glasses, or is a nerd, that’s another plus for me. And this is super important: he isn’t a bad boy! I never really got what was so attractive about bad boys, because I’d much rather stick with the nice nerdy boys who make me feel tingly all over.

Some examples of swoony love interest: The Darkling (Shadow and Bone), Ryan Stone (Dare You To), Jack (Everneath), Trevor (Pivot Point), and TONS more.

Envy

What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

If I listed down every single book I wanted, this post would never end. So I’ll just list down only seven hundred five, okay? You guys can help make part of my wishlist come true; I’ll email you my address. 😉

• A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin – I’ve heard nothing but good stuff about his books and the TV series, so now I’m intrigued! Plus, I’ve always loved epic fantasy, so I have a feeling I’ll really enjoy this one.

• The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak – Again, all my friends have been raving about this one, and after reading Rose Under Fire, I feel much more inclined to read it. And the movie’s coming out soon!

• The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenburg – Chri recommended this to me ages ago, and I still need to check it out. It sounds pretty promising for a contemporary, though!

• Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff – I’ve already read this, but it was SO GOOD I think I need my own copy. In hardback. With the US cover. Pretty please? *best puppy dog face*

• The Exorcist by William Blathy – HORROR! I’m still searching for the book that will make me absolutely terrified. I have a feeling The Exorcist will scare the living daylights out of me.

hsllo

Tag, You’re It!

For this tag, I’m nominating Leanne from Literary Excursion, Kelley from Another Novel Read, and Reem from I Read and Tell! I hope I haven’t picked anyone who’ve done this before. If I have, then ignore me, hah.

And to make things easier, I’m just going to nominate anyone reading this post, so you can join in on the fun I had!

29 thoughts on “Tagged! 7 Deadly Sins of Reading

  1. This sounds like fun! ;P I think I might do it!

    I TOTALLY AGREE! The Darkling is one of the coldest and the most mysterious villain/love interest! Oh come on, I love most guys who dressed in black lol.

    Delirium trilogy also went downhill for me 😦 loved the first, the second was great too but the third one…meh…I was bored most of the time :/

  2. UGGH the ending of Requiem was so terrible! It was waaay too open-ended! And the stupid angst all the way through grrr

    omg Lord of the Rings…I couldn’t even finish The Fellowship it just dragged on and on and on….

    DOWN WITH BAD BOYS! The nice guys are in da house 😀 EEE I love Ryan! And I have a copy of Everneath but have not yet read it…I really should…

    ps HARRY POTTER!!

    • I didn’t mind the angst (truth be told, I didn’t even notice!), but the ENDING. WHY. I CANNOT UNDERSTAND.

      Compared to The Two Towers, Fellowship is pretty action-packed. But you should totally read The Hobbit, because I liked it better than those two!

      Everneath was actually the first book that got me crying at the end, so if that doesn’t convince you, I don’t know what will. 😉

  3. Yeay, you’ve answered the question right: never enough of Harry Potter! I actually never got past the first few chapters from LOTR. The books are so boring, but I’m a huge fan of the movies. Haha, I agree about everything you said when it comes to male characters and hello Darkling & Jack 😀 GO READ THE BOOK THIEF *stares creepy at you until you read it* You won’t regret it 😀

  4. Hello, Megan. Congratz on your new blog! 😀 I just answered all these questions on Nara and Chantelle’s blog. Yes to Harry Potter for Greed and Gluttony. I’ve already finished all the LOTR books years ago but I can understand you there. If I just have a lot of books during those times, I would keep on delaying reading LOTR.

    And don’t even get me started about Lauren’s Requiem. After months and months of waiting for it, that was the ending? Grrrrr. But I am still giving her a second chance. Her new book, Panic, is already available on Edelweiss for review request. I am gonna put in a request for that one. 😀

    • Thanks, Charlotte! Yeah, I’ve just got so many more interesting-sounding books that I can’t be bothered to continue with Two Towers anymore! One day, one day… So am I! I put in a request about a month ago but so far haven’t received a response yet. 😦

  5. I still have yet to read the Delirium series 😦 but I will soon!! I have heard about the ending of Requiem though, ugh all these bad endings D;

    YES TO NERDY BOYS! *fist pump* I never understood the bad boys trend, I’m just not one for bad boys, they don’t appeal to me.

    Ooo yes Game of Thrones is a series I want to read too. No doubt it will be a brutal book but it’s high fantasy which I adore so I have to start this series someday!

    • Both Delirium and Pandemonium were extremely well-written, but you might want to go into Requiem with lower expectations, otherwise you’d end up like moi. Dissatisfied and confused. Haha.

      IKR! I don’t get leather jackets or boys with jerk-like personalities. And tattoos and smoking. So annoying!

  6. Oooh, what a fun idea! I love this post! 🙂

    I’m totally with you on the Lauren Oliver love-hate thing. Requiem really disappointed me. I know what you mean about the Tolkien books. Honestly, after a while I just started skipping the songs, because I couldn’t take it anymore, lol. I also agree about guys with curly brown hair! My husband has curly brown hair and it’s so lovely; and it is indeed nice to run my fingers through! ^_^

    I can’t wait to do this survey too! 😀

  7. I love this tag! 🙂
    I really enjoyed Delirium, but Requiem failed me big time 😦 You should give The Two Towers another chance! (I might skipped the boring parts though….) Haha, I actually quite like bad boys (Cole – Everneath), but nerdy (with a good sense of humor) guys are great too. AndYES, I’d love to get A Game of Thrones and The Book Thief (not sure I’m brave enough to read it though…) as gifts .

    • Never fear, Cayce – I do plan on giving it another go, because it’s actually one series I want to finish before I leave this world. 😀 I know! Everyone’s saying how TBT is super emotional, and I’m here just quivering with excitement and dread…

  8. This is such a great idea!

    YA is so rampant with bad boys (or the guy that’s bad for the main character) that I find nice guys absolutely refreshing to read. I feel like I don’t read as much nice guy YA (but maybe I have and haven’t noticed as much?).

    You should definitely read The Book Thief. I need to reread, but I remember when I first read it, I was emotionally drained. IDK if I want to go through that again. Lol.

    • OMG – the guy who’s bad for the MC. That one is even more annoying than bad boys! I mean, it’s like the protagonist can’t even keep her friggin’ emotions/hormones in check and just HAS to run after the one boy who’s dangerous, who’s broody, and who’s a complete bad influence!

      Ooh, wow, that actually makes me more interested to read it.

  9. Yes to Harry Potter!! I am such a glutton for HP as well. I haven’t read the Delirium series, but that sucks that the last one wasn’t that good. I really love this 7 sins meme / tag bit! So creative whoever thought of it.

  10. Oh I like this idea! And I agree with a lot of your answers. Especially the love-hate author. Lauren Oliver would definitely fall into that category for me too. I’ve wavered between hating and loving her books, but I do really adore her as a person. I love the nice nerdy boys too, and curly brown hair? So cute!

  11. Yes to Lauren Oliver! I liked the first book, but Pandemonium was meeh, AAND, people seem to hate Requiem, so I dunno. I’m not sure where I stand on the bad boy vs. good boy, but I think I like guys in between. Like Ryan Stone, or Mal for example 😀

    Thanks for tagging, Meg! The post is up. It was so much fun to do 😀

  12. Hi Megan! I just found your new blog and I’ve to say that I didn’t knew you were a huge sci-fi fan. Love the new design and even though I don’t get the reference, I love how different and personalized it is! It’s good to have you back!

    This post of so fun! I was going to read Delirium this year but then Requiem came out and had such bad ending that I don’t think I’m going to be picking it up anytime soon. My love hate relation would be with Andrea Cremer. I love the world she creates in her books, but really hate how she handles the story. Bloodrose…not a very good ending to a fantastic series. Oh, and I’m with you on the brown haired, nerdy guy. I love bad boys but only in fiction. 🙂

    • Well, now you do! 😀 Thanks so much, Aman. The title is actually from the sci-fi movies Star Trek. “Vulcan” is the name of one of the planets in that world.

      I haven’t read anything by her, but I’m not really keen on it now. Besides, I wasn’t THAT interested in her books in the first place, heh.

  13. Pingback: The 7 Deadly Sins of Reading

  14. Yay, thanks for nominating me Megan! This looks like so much fun, and I’m going to go start writing up my post right now. ^_^

    P.S. love your new blog layout and the spacey theme! I will get around to commenting on all the things soon, promise. 😀

Submit Your Transmission

