All Our Yesterdays, Cristin Terrill

All Our Yesterdays

All Our Yesterdays (Cassandra Chronicles #1)

Cristin Terrill

“You have to kill him.” Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain.

Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside.

Marina has loved her best friend James since the day he moved next door when they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles apart, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Now someone is trying to kill him. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it. At least not as the girl she once was.

All Our Yesterdays is a wrenching, brilliantly plotted story of fierce love, unthinkable sacrifice, and the infinite implications of our every choice.

I swear, Disney Hyperion is on roll! This is the second book from them I read this month that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed (the other one was Rose Under Fire, which was another amazing read). Cristin Terrill has not only managed to weave a totally believable time travel story, but where some novels in this genre are confusing and tedious to read, this one was not. With a highly original and well thought-out plot, All Our Yesterdays is definitely a must read.

Summary: The story begins with Em and Finn, two friends who are locked up in a military base, with nothing but each other’s voices to keep them sane from the frequent torture sessions brought upon them by the “doctor.” When Em finds a list of instructions in the drain of her cell, she realizes that previous versions of herself have tried over and over again to prevent Cassandra, a large particle collider (fancy word for time-travel machine), from being built, but those attempts have always failed. Now she’s left with only one choice: to kill the madman who started all this, or risk ripping the world apart all because of their cowardice.

Because most of the time I prefer my books being more story-centered than anything else, it was a bit of a surprise that I enjoyed the romance so much. Terrill is a very talented writer, able to develop relationships between characters and make them genuine. Their reactions were genuine, their feelings were genuine, and that made the events of the book a lot more plausible – and heartbreaking. Em and Finn had to have one of the most genuine romances I’ve read this year. Em wasn’t afraid to tell her true feelings, no matter how hurtful they might have been, to the reader, and I appreciated her for that. Her relationship with Finn wasn’t full of happily-ever-afters. The both of them went through their fair share of pain and difficulties, but pulled through. Even the characters I didn’t like much (such as Marina) managed to worm their way into my heart, so that by the time the end rolled around, I even shed a tear or two.

This book had one of the most complex plots ever. Fortunately, that didn’t make it any less easy to understand. Despite the fact that nearly every page was jam-packed with action, Terrill never failed to develop the plot, and never once did I get confused about what was going on. In fact, the author did such a fantastic job that every single piece fitted in perfectly.

All Our Yesterdays was one of my first encounters with a time travel book, and it was a great one! I’m interested to see where the rest of the series will take us, and will definitely be keeping an eye out for more from this promising new author.

Who is this book for?

Are you a sci-fi lover? Do you like heartwarming romance in your books? Are you looking for something new? Then All Our Yesterdays is for you!

4 stars

BOOK SPECS:
368 pages, e-galley from NetGalley (thank you!)
Published September 3, 2013 by Disney Hyperion
Purchase: The Book DepositoryAmazon

15 thoughts on “All Our Yesterdays, Cristin Terrill

  1. Too bad that Disney Hyperion seems to dislike me. They keep rejecting me on Netgalley 😛 and that despite the fact that Disney is one of my favorite things in the world! Haha.

    I’m always happy when the romance turns out to be great and well-written. I don’t care much for romance (I can enjoy a book without it), but it’s great when it works out 🙂 And yeay for complex plots! I like it when my brain has to work, but that is actually always when I read time travel books. It’s just so hard to wrap my mind around that concept. I’m happy that it’s never confusing 🙂

    Great review Meg!

    • That’s horrible! Just keep requesting – they used to reject me all the time, too, but then suddenly it stopped. Definitely! I was a bit iffy because the romance seemed to play a huge role in the book, but it turned out wonderfully well.

  2. I definitely agree with this review! While the plot is incredibly complex (and the romance ridiculously complex as well, what with the multiple versions of people), it’s quite true that you never really get confused while reading it! I loved the Finn/Em relationship, and the Finn/Marina relationship too! THEY WERE ADORBS.

  3. Oooh you know how to sell a book! This one is already on my wishlist but now I want to read it even more! Love that it’s not overly confusing even though it’s complex. Perfect! And while I’m usually not one for romance, if it’s done well and isn’t annoying, then I don’t mind giving it a shot. And you know, if I don’t like it I WILL HUNT YOU DOWN AND SHAKE MY FISTS AT YOU! >.> I’m not dramatic at all…

  4. I have been seeing so many mixed reviews for this one, Meg! I am glad you were able to enjoy it. I love books with complex plots, and it is great that All Our Yesterdays did not suffer from disorientation because of it. I do look forward to the well-developed romance too!

  5. Okay, so it’s, like, a huge deal that the concept behind this one was so implicated and complex (as you tend to get with time travel), but you still found it easy to follow and not frustrated. LOVE THAT. You’ve made me want to read this one so bad now! And wow, I had no idea about the romance; I wouldn’t think that would be a major aspect either.

  6. I’ve been hearing good thingsI about this book. The cover has always caught my attention. I’ve been cautious about it, though, since time traveling in stories seems really iffy. But! I’m going to have to read this one now. Great review, Meg!

  7. Ooh, a story-centered reader. I don’t meet to many of those. Interesting to know! No wonder you enjoyed this one so much then! I couldn’t unravel the time travel paradox thing tbh. It just didn’t make sense to me and felt too convenient. Sigh. But I do suck at science, so it may be my fault rather than the book’s.

    also, did you know your blog is set to a partial feed in readers? I REALLY like full feed, and tbh won’t comment much without it. :/ Not to put down an ultimatum, but you know. Sometimes people don’t even know. So yeah.

Submit Your Transmission

