Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wish Were Taught in School

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and Bookish, where the participants list down the top ten books/bookish things according to the given topic. This is my first time participating in TTT, but I know it’s going to be a fun experience!

Top Ten Six Books I Wish Were Taught in School

1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

C’mon. You should’ve known I was going to include this. Harry Potter teaches good English, guys, and it also prompts you to use your imagination. We all know imagination is super important, because Albert Einstein said so! (“Imagination is more important than knowledge.”) Plus, the books are full of wise sayings from Dumbledore, and promotes studying for exams (not really; I doubt Hermione’s going to help much people study harder). It’s a classic, even if my parents don’t think so. And I could fill this Top Ten post up with seven of the HP books, but I won’t. 😉

2. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson was more effective than any of my schoolbooks about Greek and Roman mythology was. We learn that in school, right? What better way to knock it into a child’s mind than by letting them read Percy? Your kid will know the Greek gods and goddesses better than you!

3. Speechless by Hannah Harrington

Before reading Speechless, I had never gotten a glimpse into what is was like to be one of the gossipers. Usually it’s from the bullied’s point of view, and most of the time, the victim’s pretty damn cool about it all because s/he’s a badass heroine. But this book took a different stance. It showed me just how much a slip of a tongue could affect a person’s life, and how much forgiveness counts in these kinds of situations. Maybe bullies who read this will finally know what their victims go through, and will feel sorry. Bullying, in any kind of situation, is NOT okay.

4. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

In case some of you didn’t know, I’m actually homeschooled, and much to my surprise, one of my required books to read was The Hobbit! I was actually quite pumped to read it, and Tolkien didn’t disappoint (the rest of the series is another matter altogether). The Hobbit is a lot like Harry Potter – fantastic world building, full of imagination, full of outlandish creatures, and great use of language. It’s definitely a book that should be read in schools!

2384605. The Shadow Spinner by Susan Fletcher

Ever wondered where the 1,001 Arabian Nights came from? The Shadow Spinner tells you exactly that. On their own, the tales aren’t very entertaining (at least they weren’t to me), but The Shadow Spinner – which was another schoolbook for me – taught me true courage, and from a crippled protagonist, no less. It’s set in Persia, so that’s a plus, too!

6. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth WeinRose Under Fire

Even though I wasn’t able to finish Code Name Verity, I absolutely and utterly fell in love with Elizabeth Wein’s latest, Rose Under Fire. It was a lot like Percy Jackson for me – I learned a LOT more about World War II and the prison camps and the atrocities the Nazis did to their prisoners than any history book from school. Who says reading fictional things like this have no value, eh? (My dad.)

Over to you!

I would’ve listed down a bunch of my favorites here, but school is still school, so I listed down the books that I enjoyed and had some sort of academical value to me. Have you read any of the books I’ve listed here? What do you think? And don’t forget to leave links to your TTT posts as well!

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wish Were Taught in School

  1. I totally agree about PJO! It’s MUCH easier to learn about Greek mythology by reading a story and so far I think PJO has the best reference to Greek mythology. Before I read PJO, my knowledge about the gods were limited only to the more well-known gods like Zeus and Athena plus Hercules and monsters like minotaur or centaur. But thanks to PJO, I also learn TONS of creatures and the other gods or heroes. In Indonesia we are not taught about Greek mythology unfortunately. That would be an easy test for me haha — all because of PJO 😛

    To be honest, I have never read/watched HP! But lots of bloggers I know got into reading thanks to HP so I think that series can turn people into readers! Definitely a good book to read for school 😉

    • I know! It’s amazing how well Rick Riordan was able to teach mythology AND entertain readers at the same time, and for that I’m extremely grateful.

      WHAT. Girl, you have NO idea what you’re missing! I’m half tempted to demand your address so I can send you a copy but I’m a little broke right now so I can’t. But you HAVE TO READ IT, KEZIA. IMMEDIATELY.

  2. Wait, I’m confuzzled. Did you do a review of Rose Under Fire yesterday? I don’t see it. >.> Unless it’s on Ink Skies? But I thought those posts were just about you guys parting ways. Anyways, I haven’t read it but I’ve heard good things!

    Oooh, is it bad I haven’t read the Percy Jackson books? I’ve never really felt the desire, and I was supposed to read the first one for an education class I took a year or two ago but I never did. Whoops!

    And haha about The Hobbit! I haven’t read it or LotR in a long time, but I’m the opposite. I didn’t really like The Hobbit but loved LotR. I’m pretty excited for the movies though 🙂

  3. I’ve never actually read The Hobbit, The Shadow Spinner, or Code Name Verity, though I’ve heard such great things about the three. And Mishy (from Inkpop 2.0) keeps poking at me to read The Hobbit xD But yes! HP and Percy Jackson! HP was really what got me into reading in the first place. And Percy Jackson taught me way more about greek gods and goddesses than my teachers up to this point did. Just sayin’ ;P

    If only these books were on our school’s reading list… *sighs* Great list!

    • Ahhh! Even though LotR will never beat HP, I still think it’s a must-read, so LISTEN TO MISHY, Chri 😉 Totally! I’m trying to get my mom to get my sister to read Percy so that she can brush up on her Greek mythology, but I’m having no luck so far. D:

      Then school will be perfect.

  4. YES HARRY POTTER! *fist pump*

    I was obsessed with Greek and Roman mythology before the Percy Jackson series so it basically just fueled the flames even more. It’s like the most perfect adaptation of it out there *_* usually I’m extremely critical of how authors adapt the gods and goddesses but Rick Riordan does it so well.

    I had no idea you were homeschooled! I haven’t read The Hobbit but I do plan to read LOTR someday and The Hobbit 🙂

  5. Oy, I’ve only read two of these books! I clearly need to brush up on my reading.

    Harry Potter! Double high fives for that. But really, it’s a no-brainer. I would give that book to EVERYONE in the world. I would shower everyone with Harry Potter (preferably in paperback) if I had the money.

    • You really do! 😉

      Right? I mean, my parents can roll their eyes all they want at our unhealthy obsession with HP, but it teaches values. And it has amazing quotes. And would it be selfish if I took a couple of those paperbacks when you become a millionaire?

  6. Oh my gosh, if I had been assigned Harry Potter or The Lightning Thief in school, that would have been awesome. Although at the same time, it makes me worrisome, because you know how in school they like to make you overanalyze all the books you read. -_-

    I’m actually kidn of surprised that I was never assigned The Hobbit in school. I think some other teachers assigned it, but mine never did. Boo!

  7. So… I hate to admit this, but I’ve only read one of the books on your list! Harry Potter, of course. I totally wish that was required reading though. I would have loved school so much more if HP was taught. The Hobbit was required for only the “gifted” students in 5th grade. Alas, I was deemed not gifted enough for it. So I have yet to read that one. Side Note: you know what else HP teaches? Latin! Draco means dragon in Latin. So I agree, you can learn a ton from HP!

    • At least it was Harry Potter! Heh, well you can take Addicted to You and shove it in your ex-schoolteacher’s face and then rub it in. 😉 Ooh, I never knew that, but I knew that there were some funky languages going on with the school logo that’s at the start of each book! Thanks for the tip. 🙂

  8. I love your new site! The layout, the name — it’s all great 🙂
    Anyway, yes! All of these should be taught in school. Particularly Harry Potter. I mean, come on, that book changed everything.

  9. Agreed, agreed, agreed, even with the ones I haven’t read yet (because I agree with your reasonings). I didn’t know you were homeschooled! That’s interesting, I didn’t know homeschoolers had required reading books.

Submit Your Transmission

