A New Planet in the Blogosphere

Um…

image

I shouldn’t be such a snob. Here’s a more enthusiastic hello, because I love you all just for reading this!

I’m guessing a lot of you already know me as Meg from Ink Skies, so I don’t really have to introd–(oh, if you insist.)

Hi guys, I’m Megan, better known as Meg! I used to blog over at Ink Skies with my friend Chri (you can check out her own blog here!), but we’ve decided to go our separate ways, so here I am with my brand new blog, Adrift on Vulcan! I love Star Trek (the most recent movies, not the old ones; I still need to find time to watch those), and thought of naming my blog something different other than the usual book-related words, so voila.

I also really have to thank Asti (A Bookish Heart) for giving me the courage to do what’s best for my blogging career. I probably ranted her ear off but she gave me awesome advice – which is how I came to be here. So thanks, Asti! You’re the best! ♥

To break the ice, let’s place a short game!

I’m going to introduce three totally random things about myself, and all you have to do is the same – leave three somethings about yourself (they don’t need to be bookish) in the comments so we can get to know each other better!

  1. I absolutely can’t fall asleep without a blanket covering me, no matter how hot it is
  2. I tend to take things to the extreme: I’d either love something to death, or hate it with a passion (yikes)
  3. There was once when my sister and I were so obsessed with Harry Potter (we still are) that we watched the shows every day and read the books at the same time! My parents were shocked, in the bad way, so they made us choose: the books or the movies? We chose the books. We were banned from watching the movies for about a year. This was in 2012. My parents are still iffy when we watch HP.

So don’t be shy – leave a comment and say hi! I promise not to bite. 😉 Plus, I’m always looking for more blogs to discover and visit!

And if you’re feeling up to it, follow my blog with Bloglovin’!

Follow on Bloglovin

29 thoughts on “A New Planet in the Blogosphere

  1. Hey Meg! I love Ink Skies — although I don’t usually leave comments, I’m more of a silent reader. You’ll be missed in Ink Skies but I think you should do whatever you like. 🙂 Your new blog is really cool too! I saw Star Trek the latest movie and loved it as well even though sometimes it made me dizzy xD

    Congratz on the move and keep blogging 😛

  2. This is awesome!! I didn’t know you had a new blog in the working. I freaking absolutely love this blog, even though it’s brand new. Deal with it.

    I think it’s a really brave move to start one on your own! Must have been overwhelming to make the decision. But nevertheless, I’ll sit here and wait for the awesomeness to roll in. 😉

    • Haha, I did keep it kind of a secret, because Chri and I weren’t really sure about what to do and we didn’t want to surprise anyone. Aw, thanks Reem! You’re awesome! ❤ Actually, I'd been blogging on my own for about half a year, then Chri joined in, so it isn't really a "new" experience for me, but it's still super exciting!

  3. It’s a shame to see Ink skies go, but woehoe, exciting news Meg! I can’t wait to follow both of you 😀

    1. I have the same.
    3. That’s awesome, haha.

    Random things about me, let me see..
    1. I love swimming.
    2. I have red nail polish on, because it’s the first time in ages that I have nails – I’m a biter :(.
    3. I have a sister and she collects and reads cook books. Not really my thing, but it’s something :p

    • Thanks, Mel!

      1. Yay! I love(d) swimming too, but after getting some water behind my eardrum – and needing to go for an OPERATION just to get it out – I decided I wouldn’t go swimming in case it happened again. 😦
      2. Aw, that sucks. Just think: you can have ultra pretty nails just as long as you resist the temptation!
      3. FOOD. AND BOOKS. Two of favorite words. You have an awesome sister. 😉

  4. I’m super excited for you Meg! And I’m glad that I was of help. Rant my ear off anytime 😉

    Ooooh I like games!
    1. I (also) have to sleep with a blanket on. But, that’s not all. I have to have a blanket covering me somehow, I have to have my teddy bear cuddled in my arms (yes, I’m a 24 year-old who sleeps with a stuffed animal every night), and I have to have a fan blowing on me (which helps when I’m shoved under a blanket all the time). I’m very specific about my sleeping.
    2. I also am extremely passionate. I’m a huge all-or-nothing type of person. When I decide to do something, nothing really ever gets in my way. It’s why two years ago when I mentioned to my parents I wanted to fly to another country to meet some guy I met online, they gave me permission. They knew I would do it even if they said no. >.>
    3. And I can’t relate to the last one so let’s see… I hate driving fast in cars. I rarely use the toll road or highway or anything because it freaks me out. I’ll get on one that says 70 mph speed limit and only go 60 mph. I feel it’s incredibly unsafe and nervewrecking. ><

    • I’ll be sure to keep that in mind. 😉

      1. Don’t worry. I’m a sixteen year old who needs to have her very own bean pillow in order to fall asleep. Oh, and that pillow? It’s been mine for nearly two decades now. I’ve drooled on it, I’ve sucked on it, and I’ve probably done a lot other disgusting stuff on it when I was a kid, but hey. Everyone needs something from their childhood, right?
      2. Whoa! I wish I had guts like yours! If my parents said no to something as serious as that, I’d probably listen. Because they’d probably lock me in my room to keep me home anyway. :/
      3. Wish I could say the same, but I LOVE racing. I play car racing games a lot. Somehow I find it a thrill when we’re driving fast and just speeding past everything.

  5. Although I am sad to see Ink Skies go, I’m really excited for your endeavor as a solo-blogger.

    Random things about me:
    1. I do not have a sense of smell. (At least, I don’t think I do because I can’t identify smells and such. I can feel the smell in my nose? IDK. It sucks.)
    2. When I was little, I would sleep with my blankets covering my ears (even when it was hot) because I was scared that leprechauns would eat them. Lol.
    3. I shriek in joy when I’m in a car and splash through puddles. The best feeling in the world.

    • Thanks, Cee!

      1. That’s horrible. The only times when I can’t seem to smell ANYTHING is when I have a cold. But not being able to smell in normal circumstances? That must suck! 😦
      2. I do the same thing – except that I’m not afraid of leprechauns, and I still do it now. When I was little, somehow a fly managed to worm its way into my sister’s ear, so all she could hear was constant buzzing for the whole night, until she complained to my mom and we found out what the problem was. Ever since then I’ve been really paranoid, so I sleep with something covering both my ears just in case!
      3. Haha!

  6. Yay! Congratulations on the new blog 😀 So exciting!
    By the way, I was reading your about page, and I challenge you to a dual in procrastination! It would be a close battle…
    And heck yes #catwithglasses haha
    Anyway, back to the game:
    I completely agree with number 1! Which is why I often have trouble sleeping in summer. It’s too damn hot!
    So my three:
    1. I hate people on book covers. Unless they’re cartoonish or something, but actual people = nope.
    2. I am a dog person. Hehe.
    3. There is pretty much nothing in my bedroom except my wardrobe, my bookshelves and my bed. At least I have my priorities straight haha

    • Glad you think so, Nara!

      CHALLENGE ACCEPTED. It’ll definitely be close. And I’ll definitely win. 😉 Isn’t he a cutie?! (This is where you say yes, or I kill you. Mwahahaha.)

      1. They’re all right for me as long as they have (a) Something to do with the plot, (b) Aren’t standing in awkward poses/positions, (c) Aren’t kissing on the cover, (d) Just… something different, and not cliched.
      2. ME TOO. But I love cats more. xD
      3. I’m proud of you, darling.

  7. Yay, so glad you’re still hanging around — and I LOVE the name and look of your new planet. 😀

    1. OMG ME TOO. I cannot fall asleep without a blanket or at the very least a sheet, but often I find the sheet isn’t enough, even if I’m sweating underneath it!!!
    2. Uh. My mind has suddenly gone blank. I guess that can be my #2. My mind goes randomly blank WAY too often. It’s very frustrating.
    3. Three is my favorite number and I always choose it when I have the option. 😀

    • Yay, thanks, Kelley! 😀

      1. Yeah, I usually need something thicker – even on hot nights! My family thinks I’m weird, but OBVIOUSLY NOT.
      2. Same here! Especially when I’m in front of a large crowd, or just doing something mindless. Sometimes I’ll get up to go do something, but then I’ll forget what it was I wanted to do because my mind went blank. T_T
      3. Seven and thirteen for me!

  8. Great name, looking forward to following along with your new adventures here Meg.
    1. Yes, I have to snuggle with something no matter how hot the temp. Its a comfort thing
    2. I’m ridiculously clumsy and am always falling, dropping or breaking things. Including the 3 month old tablet I’m typing on now. It has a cracked screen but I’m making do as I feel so guilty!
    3. I read all the genres and often all at the same time. Yes I’m a took cheater.

  9. Hi Meg! This blog looks great, couldn’t stop laughing at your gifs as well haha
    Umm about me… 1. I’m a med student with terrible time management skills (go figure)
    2. I have trouble reading books if they don’t have a romance :\
    3. my music taste is tragically mainstream hahaha

    • Hehe, thanks, Chantelle!

      1. Ugh, I can totally relate. I have a problem with self-control too. That’s why I end up doing blog stuff on the computer instead of school. 😦
      2. Really? Wow! Thankfully I can read just about any kind of book just as long as it can hold my attention.
      3. Like I keep telling my friends: nothing wrong with mainstream. 😉

  10. Your blog looks great. I really look forward to what you have to share! Eek! Glad that you are more comfortable here.

    Three random things about me:
    1. I am a first-generation American.
    2. I had a cat duo named Ginger and Nutmeg.
    3. Unlike Mel, I have on neon blue nail polish. Lol.

    <333

    • Thank you, Chrys! ❤

      1. I might be one, too! Uhhh… If I manage to get a scholarship to study in the States, then a job so that I can stay there. Heh.
      2. "Had"?! What happened to them? Nice names, though.
      3. NEON BLUE. One of my favorite colors.

  11. Wow, I love the blog already! So to answer your questions and break the ice:

    i. I can sleep without something covering me but I prefer to have something over me.
    ii. I’ve a habit of developing passions which can run cold just as quickly. But some things are timeless and I can’t make myself not be passionate about them. Like books, so yeah.
    iii. I adore Harry Potter to death and while I’m shocked with the level of your adoreness (?), I’m happy, too ’cause you guys chose the books.

    Good luck with the blog, Meg. Looking forward to your adriftings 😉

    • Yay, thanks, Sana!

      1. Ooh, I wish I was like that, but no. Just can’t do it. 😦
      2. Same! I’d feel enthusiastic and passionate about something, but if that something turned out to be a failure, then I move on and forget about it.
      3. We definitely had our priorities right. 😉

  12. Megan! When I saw the Ink Skies link missing from your profile I totally panicked. But here you are! Clearly I’m running a few days behind – I only just found out that you and Chri had decided to go your separate ways. But I’m excited to see that you already have a new blog up and running. I wish you the best of luck, though I know you’ll do brilliantly on your own! 🙂

  13. Meg, okay so I already said all this on you leaving post on Ink Skies, but GOOD ON YOU and I’m so pleased that you are taking steps to do what you feel is best for you and your blogging life.

    Oh, and this is kind of eerie, but I swear I have almost exactly all three of those things in common with you O_O

  14. I LOVE your new blog!!! I’m not a Star Trek fan, so the inside jokes are lost on me, but I don’t even care I LOVE this blog and am super glad that you decided to keep on blogging 🙂
    We already know each other, but okay 3 random things about me:
    I normally don’t like cake, but am eating cake right now (it’s Mozart cake, the only cake I LOVE)
    I like purple, a lot (even my camera is purple)
    Aaaand I can’t fall asleep with a blanket covering me, especially not when it’s hot 😉

Submit Your Transmission

